Vegan Journey – Vegan Faux-Pas

As a fairly recent vegan, I find I have a few daily struggles with my new life choice. I say life choice because that is what becoming a vegan means to me – changing my life. A plant based diet is so natural and kind to your body, I am loving it so far. Having said that though, I still have the occasional craving for something non-vegan.

I thought I’d share my vegan ‘faux-pas’ to shame me into being a better person vegan.

1) Coffee.
I love coffee. I never used to love coffee until I had to wake up at 5:30am every morning for a whole year to commute to work. It sucked; alas I drank a buttload of coffee. Now, you are probably thinking “but Christine coffee is vegan, why can’t you drink it?” Well, it is because I’m a cream and sugar coffee drinker. The double doubler. Sigh. I’ve tried the Silk coffee creamer, the Almond Breeze Vanilla almond milk, and so on. Nothing is as good. I’ve just gone cold turkey and stopped drinking the stuff all together. As my co-workers indulge in their hot brown cups of joy every morning I hide out in my office until the pot is empty.

2) Chocolate
Who doesn’t looove chocolate? Halloween came and went and I did not stay away from my chocolate temptations like a good little vegan. I had a mini Kit Kat here and there, with a few mini Mars bars thrown in. On Halloween I did make Vegan Twix Bars and felt good about myself. Vegan chocolate is not easy to find in grocery stores. I have to go to Whole Foods or the Bulk Barn to get it which is often quite inconvenient. I have to start making a better effort to stay away from chocolate. Boo-Hoo.

3) Convenience Food
Do you know how many Starbucks, Tim Hortons, Pizza Pizza’s, etc are in Toronto? TOO MANY TO COUNT – on every single street. Most of these places do not have vegan choices easily identified. I stay away from gluten too (extremely difficult) so finding a quick snack on the run is very hard, impossible at times. I’ve started packing vegan-gluten free Simple Bars or Larabars in my purse just in case I have a building temptation to stuff my face with an ooey gooey cinnabon.

2 responses to “Vegan Journey – Vegan Faux-Pas

  1. Pingback: February Grocery Store Favourites | Gotta Eat Green

  2. Greetings! Very useful advice within this article!
    It’s the little changes that will make the greatest changes. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

