Vegan Maple Baked Beans

2012-12-08 11.30.43

I love maple. Maple syrup, maple candy, and especially maple beans. I’m famous at home for opening a can of maple beans and polishing off the whole thing. I can’t help it, I just love maple beans that much. The canned version is not great for you (packed with sugar and preservatives) so I decided to make a homemade batch. This is my first attempt at this recipe and I am happy to report that these beans are awesome! Packed with maple flavour and a bit of a bite from the mustard.

Vegans really have to watch what we eat. Omitting meat and other animal products means making up for the lost vitamins and nutrients in other ways. Iron, protein, and B12 are just a few of the nutrients we have to replace with vegan eats. Beans are jam packed with iron, protein, and fiber. Try to get one protein in every meal you have throughout the day (typically people have three main meals a day). Anyways.. I hope you enjoy this bean recipe. Mmmmm maple…

Vegan Maple Baked Beans

Adapted from Vegan Baked Beans

  • 2 cans beans (I used 1 can navy beans and 1 can 6-bean medley)
  • 8 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 tbsp molasses
  • 3 1/2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp mustard
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp dried cranberries (or more to taste

1) Rinse beans with warm water. Add to large pot with tomatoes and diced onion. Stir.

2) Measure and add the molasses, maple syrup, mustard, apple cider vinegar, salt, cinnamon, and cranberries. Stir and cover with lid. Heat on low heat for 1 hour, stirring often. The beans should hot but not a roaring boil. If it boils for the full hour, there will be no liquid and the beans will burn.

I was short on time to make my beans so I made them on the stove top. You could also throw everything in the slow cooker and cook on high for 3-4 hours or low for 7-8 hours.

It’s that easy my friends!

Leave a Reply

