December ’12 Grocery Store Favourites

I’m one of those people who loves to go grocery shopping. As a big time foodie, I get very excited when I find a product I haven’t tried yet or that I have been looking for. My weekly grocery shopping is never at just one location. I usually go to at least three grocery or health food stores in one week. My favourites are: the Bulk Barn, Sobey’s, Loblaws, Whole Foods, and Longo’s.

This is my latest haul from Whole Foods this weekend. I found a bunch of great new things I can’t wait to share with you.

1) Natural Delights Date Rolls

2012-12-16 11.14.03

If you are a big date person you’ll love these dates rolled in coconut. Snack on a couple as a energy boost or as a sweet treat after a workout.

2) Wheat Free Only Oats

2012-12-16 11.15.17

Only Oats by Avena Foods are uncontaminated with wheat, barley, rye, triticale, kamut, spelt and other grains that are closely related to wheat. These oats are ideal for those with gluten sensitivities. I use these oats for oatmeal in the morning and I process them to make oat flour when I’m baking.

3) Almond Fresh Noel Nog

2012-12-16 11.16.15

I can’t even begin to explain my love for Almond Fresh Noel Nog. It is soo good! For only 100 cals, this vegan ‘egg nog’ will make it easy to forgot the classic egg nog your family will be throwing back this holiday season. Enjoy it with a little rum for some heat.

4) Stash Decaf Chai Vanilla Tea

2012-12-16 11.14.54

Stash has a ton of great flavoured teas. The Vanilla Chai Decaf Tea is delicious, especially with a few Christmas cookies to snack on.

5) Amande yogurt

2012-12-16 11.15.44

It isn’t easy to find a great tasting vegan yogurt so I was a bit hesitant to try Amande cultured almondmilk yogurt. I’ve tried a few brands of soy yogurt and have not found a kind that I have warmed up to. When I tasted Amande I was so surprised by how delicious it was! At first glance it appears watery, but with a quick stir everything gets mixed and a smooth consistency is found. My favourite flavour is coconut but cherry comes pretty close too.

Leave a Reply

