Chickpea & Lentil Curry

Chickpea & Lentil Curry

I do not like spicy food. Like, at all. My family can attest to this, seeing as how I will not even touch ‘medium’ spiced foods and when I ate meat my go-to chicken wing order was honey garlic instead of the ‘hot-hot-hot’ my sister was drawn to.

Because of my hate/fear of spicy food, I never really experimented with Indian cuisine. The spices listed on the recipes intimidated me and I never thought I would like the bold flavours. Boy, was I wrong. I discovered I actually love curry and Indian dishes are very vegan friendly. As you all know by now, I’m a big coconut person so obviously this curry recipe has coconut milk. To reduce the fat content you can substitute vegetable broth or tomato sauce(?) but the coconut flavour is amaaazing!

Chickpea & Lentil Curry

Makes 4 servings

Adapted from Best Recipes

  • 1/4 cup green lentils
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 10 baby carrots, diced
  • 4 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 tbsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 can (439 g) chickpeas, drained
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • Salt and pepper
  • handful of cilantro, chopped

1) Cook lentils according to package directions (I cooked 1/4 cup lentils with 2 cups water in a medium saucepan over medium heat for about 20 minutes).

2) Steam baby carrots for 5-7 minutes or until tender (I used a pot steamer – but you can boil the carrots, or cook in the microwave). Dice when cool. Set aside.

3) Over medium heat, add oil to a large frying pan. Add onion and garlic. Saute for 5-7 minutes, or until onion is translucent. Add the tomato paste, water, coconut milk, curry powder, paprika, chickpeas, and baby carrots. Cover with lid and simmer for 5 minutes, stirring every minute. Add the lentils and garam masala and replace lid. Heat for 5 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste.

4) I enjoyed my curry over quinoa, but you can enjoy alone or over brown rice. Top with cilantro.

Leave a Reply

