Double Chocolate Mint Cookies

Double Chocolate Mint Cookie

Anyone else starting to notice a trend here? I keep saying I’m going to stay away from baked goods… and then I post a cookie or cupcake recipe! I’ll get my act together soon, I swear…

One of my new years resolutions this year was to only have baked goods and treats on the weekend. I was doing way too much baking in November/December, trying out recipes for cookies and bars in preparation for Christmas so I definitely needed a sugar break when January came. I’m also looking for more recipes with little to no refined sugar to cut back on the calories and excess sugar. I must say I have been doing alright with this resolution… not great though. My work has been SUPER busy and I have been lacking on my healthy eating the past few days.

This week I’m getting back on track. No baked goods for this girl, just loads of spinach and squash (yummm!). The cookie recipe posted below was a treat for my soon-to-be mother in law. She loves chocolate but she is very healthy so I know she’ll love these cookies. These double chocolate mint cookies are gluten free, vegan, and refined sugar free.

Double Chocolate Mint Cookies

Makes 2 dozen cookies

  • 1 1/2 cup GF all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 1/2 cup  coconut oil (soft – not hard or liquid)**
  • 1/4 cup olive oil (or any other oil you have handy)
  • 1 cup coconut sugar (or anything other sugar)
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp peppermint extract
  • 1 cup vegan chocolate chips

1) Preheat oven to 325F.

2) In a medium bowl combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, xanthan gum and ground flax seeds.

3) In a large bowl, whisk together coconut oil, olive oil, sugar, apple sauce, vanilla, and peppermint extract.

4) Add the dry mixture to the wet mixture. Mix until combined. Add chocolate chips.

5) Roll dough into one inch balls and place on baking sheet. Bake for 12-14 minutes. Leave on baking sheet for 2-3 minutes then transfer to wire baking rack.

** If your coconut oil is hard, soften it in the microwave for a few seconds. If your oil is in liquid form, freeze is for a few moments. You want it to be soft.

Double Chocolate Mint Cookies

Leave a Reply

