Weekly Ingredient Trio – GF Oats

GF Oats

Oats are great, GF or regular. I use them in baking all the time. Sometimes I process them to make oat flour, other times I love to have big flakes of oats in cookies and squares.

My favourite oat brand is Only Oats, pictured above. They are wheat, barley and rye free and are certified gluten-free so they are safe for those with a celiac diet.  I buy these oats from Bulk Barn but you can also find them at other health food stores.

If you don’t want to use GF oats you can definitely use regular oats in all of the recipes below. Oats are high in fibre and are an excellent source of iron so I encourage you to get on the oat train and try out my recipes!

Recipe 1

Oat Bites

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Energy Bites

  • 1 cup GF or regular rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 banana
  • 3 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips

1) Add almonds to a food processor or blender and combine until almond meal forms (do not process into flour). Add to a medium size bowl.

2) Add rolled outs, flax seeds, and chia seeds to bowl with almond meal.

3) In a separate bowl, mash banana. Add peanut butter and maple syrup. Whisk until well combined.

4) Add wet ingredients to the dry. Add chocolate chips and stir until combined.

5) Roll dough into bite sized balls. Place in container with lid and store in freezer.

Oat Bites

Recipe 2

Lentil Loaf

 Lentil Oat Loaf with Homemade BBQ Sauce

I found this recipe on one of my favourite blogs, The Healthful Pursuit, and I am so glad I decided to make it! I’ve seen a few recipes for lentil loaves but I decided to try this one because it is GF and has no nuts or beans. I followed the recipe exactly, but I found the loaf was a bit mushy. I sliced four servings and topped with BBQ sauce and baked them for an additional 10 minutes. They came out crispy and delicious.

You can use store bought BBQ sauce but I recommend making the recipe that goes along with the loaf. It is one of the best BBQ sauces I have ever tasted. I added more liquid smoke than it recommends and my god, it is ever good.

Lentil Loaf

Recipe 3

Pecan Oat Tofu

Pecan and Oat Crusted Tofu

Serves 2

  • 1/2 block extra firm tofu, cut into cubes
  • 3 tbsp orange juice
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp chili powder, divided
  • 3/4 cup GF oats
  • 1/4 cup pecans
  • lime juice

1) In a bowl, add orange juice, soy sauce, sesame oil, and 1/2 tsp chili powder. Add salt and pepper if desired. Stir and add tofu cubes. Toss cubes with the sauce. Cover bowl and place in fridge for one hour (shake bowl after 30 minutes to evenly coat the cubes).

2) Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking tray with tin foil.

3) In a food processor, process pecans and oats for about 30 seconds (until meal forms). Add oat/pecan mixture to a small bowl. Add 1/2 tsp chili powder and stir.

4) Take the tofu cubes out of the fridge and drop cubes, one at a time, in the oat mixture. Coat evenly and place on baking tray. Repeat with all cubes.

5) Bake in oven for 25 minutes. Turn once.

6) Drizzle lime juice on cubes when you remove from oven. Serve with homemade BBQ sauce.

Pecan Oat Tofu

One response to “Weekly Ingredient Trio – GF Oats

  1. Oh my goodness, that lentil loaf looks fabulous!! And homemade BBQ sauce to go with it makes it even better :).

Leave a Reply

