April Grocery Store Favourites

2013-04-26 06.25.39

I think this month’s round up of my favourite grocery store purchases is my best list to date! I have so many goodies for you I can’t wait to tell you all about them.

This week’s list of products comes from Costco, Loblaws, the Bulk Barn, and Vega’s online shop. What are your favourite grocery store products? Do you buy one product every week when you shop?

1) Chia Seeds

2013-04-24 18.05.08

Chia seeds are a vegan staple, but a lot of people have no idea what they are. I thought I would feature them this month so that people know what they look like when they search for them in the grocery store. These little seeds really thicken up sauces, puddings, and smoothies. A little goes along way with these seeds!

2) Vega One Protein Powder

2013-04-24 18.05.28

Protein powder is a big part of my work out routine. After a good run, nothing is better than a big protein shake to sit back and relax with. Vega products are really amazing, I highly recommend them. I love the Vega One nutritional shake protein powder. It makes my shakes thick and filling. It is packed with vitamins and good for you ingredients like greens and berries. I recently bought the Vega Sport starter pack to sample all the different products… but more on those later…

3) White Linen Collection Marinara Sauce

2013-04-24 18.03.38

Seriously obsessed with this marinara sauce by White Linen Collection. The ingredient list is so simple – tomatoes, olive oil, onions, basil, garlic, salt and spices. It doesn’t get much better than that. You can get two big jars for under $10 at Costco, but I warn you, this sauce is seriously addictive. It goes great on spaghetti squash, pasta, roasted veggies, and as a veggie/nacho dip when mixed with a little vegan sour cream!

4) Skippy Natural Peanut Butter

2013-04-24 18.02.30

Nothing beats a good nut butter. Peanut butter is obviously the most common – for good reason! It is the perfect spread on toast and fruit and I love to stir it into overnight oatmeal. This is the first time I tried Skippy’s natural PB (only because my usual PB was sold out in the grocery store) and I am a big fan of it.

5) Maple Style Beans

2013-04-24 18.07.15

So this isn’t the healthiest product to feature, but it is one of my favourite comfort foods! I’ve been eating these beans for years and years and I am so happy they are vegan so I can continue to treat myself. Some people may find them to be too sweet, but they are best paired with a piece of multigrain toast and a little earth balance. To die for.

6) Kraft Fruit and Veg Salad Dressing

2013-04-24 19.48.56

I bought this salad dressing because it was on sale a couple weeks ago and I was looking for a good dressing for when I was too lazy to whip up something homemade. The flavours in this salad dressing will tickle your taste buds – roasted yellow pepper, garlic, and lime! Wow! It makes a great marinade for tofu and tempeh as well!

6 responses to “April Grocery Store Favourites

  1. Whoa! I have never heard of that salad dressing, but it sounds awesome! I will be on the look out for it the next time that I hit up the grocery stores.

  2. Do you know of anywhere other than Costco that sells that Marinara sauce?

  3. Pingback: Weekly Ingredient Trio – Falafel Balls | Gotta Eat Green

  4. Pingback: June Grocery Store Favourites | Gotta Eat Green

Leave a Reply

