Moving Weekend + Sweet Potato Scramble Breakfast Sandwich

2013-04-27 06.52.49

This weekend we are moving out of our current apartment and into our new one. We have slowly been moving boxes to the new place over the past week, but this weekend we are hauling over all the big stuff. Moving to a better area, to a better apartment, is in theory a great idea… I just forgot how much work moving is.

I’ve only ever done three big moves in my life, isn’t that crazy? I moved out of my parents house to my residence in first year; then I moved into my house at university; then I was off to Grant’s parents house for a year (but I don’t really count that move because I didn’t have any furniture); and finally, our move into our apartment. So this move makes four. Grant house hopped in university (1 residence, 3 houses) so he’s a pro now. That means he should carry all the boxes, right? ;)

2013-04-27 06.51.27

I am finding so many goodies as we pack up the apartment. Things I thought I lost or have forgotten about are popping up everywhere. Grant calls me a pack-rat, but that is just nonsense. I like to keep things..just in case. For example, I have a few (4) different types/brands of shampoo under the sink that Grant thinks is just absurd. But what if my hair is super dry so I need my super dry saving shampoo instead of my regular? Boys just don’t understand.

For packing fuel, I made these awesome breakfast sandwiches. They beat McDonald’s mcmuffins, hands down.

2013-04-27 06.35.28

Sweet Potato Scramble Breakfast Sandwich

Makes 2 sandwiches

  • 1 small sweet potato
  • 1/2 cup tofu, crumbled
  • handful of baby spinach
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp barbeque sauce
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 an avocado, sliced
  • 2 slices vegan cheese
  • ketchup or barbeque sauce

1) Cook sweet potato. I poked mine a few times and popped it in the microwave for 6 minutes, but you could also bake in the oven for 20-30 minutes. You know it is done when you can insert knife easily. Let cool.

2) In a small bowl combine crumbled tofu, nutritional yeast, chili powder and barbeque sauce. Season with salt and pepper. Spray a medium frying pan with oil and heat on medium. Once hot, add tofu mixture and spinach. Heat for 5-6 minutes, until spinach has wilted. Add mixture to a small bowl and return pan to stove.

3) Cut sweet potato widthwise about 1 cm thickness. Remove skin. Add olive oil to frying pan (still on medium heat). Add sweet potato slices and fry each side for 2-3 minutes.

4) Toast English muffins.

5) Take one half of the English muffins and top with 2-3 tbsp of tofu mixture. Top with 2-3 slices of sweet potato. Add a few slices of avocado and top with a slice of vegan cheese. Drizzle with ketchup or barbeque sauce and add the other half of English muffin.

Serve with baked beans.

2013-04-27 06.37.16

2013-04-27 06.36.52

 

Leave a Reply

