Weekly Feature – The Smoothie Guide

Smoothie

Instead of a weekly ingredient trio this week, I am doing a weekly feature. Today we are talking smoothies. I received a request from a reader (my sister) who wanted smoothie recipes that had both fruit and veggies. Vegetables and ingredients like nuts or tofu in smoothies can be foreign to some people. They stick with fruit, yogourt, and milk and call it a day. These people are seriously missing out. I make smoothies so delicious that I trick myself into thinking they are a dessert rather than a protein & vitamin rich-after workout-muscle repair-super drink.

Let’s get down to business. In all of my smoothies I always add – a few ice cubes, fruit/veggies, some sort of liquid, protein, and sometimes a sweetner. I mix and match depending on what I have stocked. I prefer frozen fruit because it makes smoothies thicker and cremier but if you only have fresh fruit handy, just add a few more ice cubes.

Here is my smoothie guide:

1) Fruit/Veggies (I usually mix fresh and frozen):

Fruit:

  • banana
  • berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries)
  • apple
  • orange
  • coconut
  • melon
  • peaches
  • pineapple
  • mango
  • kiwi
  • pear
  • pumpkin
  • avocado

Veggies

  • spinach
  • kale
  • carrot
  • sweet potato
  • beets
  • cucumber

2) Liquid

  • milk (almond, soy, lactose-free, or coconut)
  • water
  • coconut water
  • juice (orange, apple, or pineapple)
  • tea

3) Protein – I try to get at least one protein source in all of my smoothies

Vega One

  • Tofu
  • Nut butters (peanut, almond, cashew)
  • Quinoa
  • Nuts
  • flax seeds
  • chia seeds

4) Sweetner – not always required.

  • maple syrup
  • agave nectar
  • coconut sugar
  • medjool dates
  • Jam & Jelly

Here are some of my go-to recipes for smoothies. All the recipes listed below make 1 serving. Add more/less liquid if you want a thicker or thinner smoothie.

Choco Banana Smoothie (my FAV)

Smoothie

  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 cup almond milk (sometimes I get a little crazy and add chocolate almond milk)
  • 4 chunks frozen banana
  • 1 ice cube
  • 1 cup baby spinach

1) Add all ingredients to a blender and blend on high for about 30 seconds.

Banana Bread Smoothie

Banana Bread Smoothie

  • 5 chunks frozen banana (about 1 medium banana)
  • 2 ice cubes
  • 1/4 cup oats (GF or regular), soaked in a little less than 1/2 cup water **
  • 1 medjool date, pitted
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds

1) Add all ingredients to a blender and blend on high for about 30 seconds.

** Mix the water and oats and place in container with lid and refrigerate for at least one hour. I do this before my workouts and by the time I am done they are ready to go.

Swamp Berry Smoothie

Smoothie

Looks like swamp water but it is oh so delicious.

  • 3/4 cup mixed frozen berries
  • 2 chunks banana (about 1/2 medium banana)
  • 2 ice cubes
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 cup baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup green tea
  • 1/2 cup orange juice

1) Add all ingredients to a blender and blend on high for about 30 seconds.

Greens Please Smoothie

Shake

  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1/2 cup frozen kale
  • 3 frozen banana chunks
  • 1 scoop green or vanilla protein powder
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 ice cubes
  • 1 tbsp almond butter

1) Add all ingredients to a blender and blend on high for about 30 seconds.

Orange Cream Smoothie

  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup carrots, chopped and steamed (optional) **
  • 4 frozen banana chunks
  • 2 ice cube
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder

1) Add all ingredients to a blender and blend on high for about 30 seconds.

** For a smooth smoothie (like what I did there) I recommend boiling or steaming your veggies ahead of time. At the start of each week I like to steam a bunch of different veggies (cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, etc) and keep them in a tupperware container in the fridge so that I can easily add them to smoothies. It is a super easy way to get more veggies in your smoothies. You won’t even know they are there!

PB&J Smoothie

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 3 chunks frozen banana
  • 1/4 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 tsp strawberry jam
  • 1.5 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tsp ground flax seeds
  • 1 scoop protein powder

1) Add all ingredients to a blender and blend on high for about 30 seconds.

One response to “Weekly Feature – The Smoothie Guide

  1. YUM! I can’t wait to try the Choco Banana one :)

Leave a Reply

