PB&B Frozen Treat Bars

Treat Bar

The long weekend is here. Thank God!! My four best friends are coming to visit this weekend and I am super excited to see them. We have been best friends since kindergarden (20 years!!) but now that we are older and live in different cities, it can be hard to get all of us together. I’ve been preparing for their arrival all week.. which means getting the wine and desserts ready!

Girls

I am so fortunate to have found not one, but four, great girls that I have been able to grow up with. We know pretty much everything about eachother and when we get together it is impossible for other people to get a word in. This weekend we are celebrating so many things together! A new job, a graduation, an engagement (yes, we will be celebrating my engagement until the big day finally happens).. I can’t wait! (can you tell I’m excited?)

Girls

One of our favourite things to do together (other than drinking wine and gossiping) is eating treats and gossiping! We are all super health conscious so I knew I would have to make something with chocolate, but use healthy ingredients. I recently purchased The Dessert Freedom Recipe Guide over at Healthful Pursuit – and let me tell you, Leanne rocks at making healthy desserts! I was so inspired by her recipes and every page left me hopeful that a tasty dessert was so very possible with good wholesome ingredients. As a vegan (and an avid GF baker) it can be challenging to come up with creative dessert ideas, but I am blown away by Leanne’s recipe guide and what she can create.

Bars

The treat bars I made were not one of the recipes in Leanne’s Guide but I took a few of her ideas to develop my recipe (her Frosty Jam Butter Squares are on my ‘must make asap’ list though). They are so easy to make and they taste just like ice cream bars. A definite winner – I’ll have to put them through the taste test with the ladies!

PB&B Frozen Treat Bars

  • 1 cup natural raw almonds
  • 8 medjool dates, pitted
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 3 medium frozen bananas, peeled and broken into chunks
  • 2 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (vegan)

1) Line a loaf pan with parchment paper. Make sure there is some paper hanging off the sides of the pan so you can easily pull it out when ready to serve.

2) In a food processor, process the almonds for about 3 minutes or until they are nice and crumbly. Don’t over process into a flour – rub between your fingers after three minutes and make sure it is crumbly not smooth. Add the dates, coconut oil, salt, and almond butter and process for about 30 seconds.

3) Spread almond/date mixture on the bottom of the pan. Push down to make sure it is compacted (use your hands, you don’t want it to be loose and crumbly). Place in the freezer while you prepare other layers.

4) Wash food processor and return to work space. Add the frozen bananas and process for about 5 minutes until nice and creamy. Add peanut butter and process just until blended. Remove pan from freezer and spread banana mixture over the almond/date bottom. Sprinkle chocolate chips over top. Cover with tin foil and return to freezer. Let sit for at least one hour.

5) To serve – remove from pan and slice into bars.

3 responses to “PB&B Frozen Treat Bars

  1. I’m SO happy that you like my recipe guide! Thank you for all of your kind words, Christine :) I LOVE this recipe! Great work with it. Have an awesome weekend.

  2. These look way way WAY too good to be healthy. :)

  3. Pingback: 1 Year Blogiversary!! | Gotta Eat Green

Leave a Reply

