10K & Chocolate Chip Banana Coco-Oat Bread (vegan and GF)

photo

Tomorrow I am running my first 10k. I am really nervous about it because I have never covered that much distance before. I am working towards a half marathon in September so I know I have to keep challenging myself, but 10k just seems so far!

run

(5k run a few months ago)

To add an extra challenge, I am running the race up North in Huntsville, ON. It only dawned on me recently that up North = hills. Great – my first 1ok and I am participating in the hardest one out there! I thought about switching to the 5k, but I’m going to stick with the 10 and get myself through the race. I may be dead after, but it will be well worth it! Oh, did I mention it is supposed to rain too?

RunAdd Contact Form

(5k run two weeks ago)

As I mentally and physically prepare myself for the race tomorrow, I am thinking about what I am going to wear and what I am going to eat pre-race. I love my run crops from Lululemon for long runs but I like to switch up my tops each time (for finishing line photo purposes obviously). I was thinking  my bright purple/blue tank because it is so bright and it will hopefully lift my spirits (wishful thinking, I know).

I usually have a piece of toast and a banana before my runs but I think I’ll munch a protein bar before my run this time. I’ve heard that it gives you way more energy and isn’t filling or heavy during the run. Pre-run I am usually feeling nervous, anxious, and excited to get started. My stomach is usually in knots so it is best that I don’t eat too much before.

Banana Bread

What I DO know, is that I will be having this delicious Chocolate Chip Banana Coco-Oat Bread post-race. This banana bread is vegan (of course) and gluten free if you use GF oats. It isn’t as fluffy as the banana bread you are probably used to but don’t knock it until you try it. I’m not going to promise you that it is THE BEST banana bread out there, but it is pretty darn good.

Chocolate Banana Coco-Oat Bread (vegan and GF)
Adapted from Ambitious Kitchen
  • 2 1/2 cups GF or regular oats
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar, plus 1 tbsp
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp dairy free chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup non-sweetened coconut flakes, plus 1 tbsp
1) Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray.
2) Add oats to a food processor. Process for about 3 minutes, stopping to scrap down sides if needed. Blend until oats resemble flour.
3) Measure out 2 cups of the oat flour and place in a medium bowl. Whisk in xanthan gum, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
4) In a separate bowl, mash bananas with 1/3 cup brown sugar, flax seeds, vanilla extract, and oil. Mix until creamy. Add to oat flour mixture. Blend until just combined (don’t beat).
5) Fold in the chocolate chips and coconut flakes. Pour batter into a loaf pan. Sprinkle 2 tbsp of oats, 1 tbsp of brown sugar, and 1 tbsp of coconut flakes on top. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until knife inserted comes out clean.
6) Cool for 10 minutes in pan. Remove from pan and cool on wire rack for another 10 minutes.
Banana Bread

 

2 responses to “10K & Chocolate Chip Banana Coco-Oat Bread (vegan and GF)

  1. makingthymeforhealth

    Good luck on your 10k! I’ve never ran more than a 5k either and would also be nervous. This banana bread looks delicious!

  2. Hope the 10k went well!
    And the recipe looks great! I tend to use the same two vegan banana loaf recipes repeatedly. I should add this into my rotation!

Leave a Reply

