Tips on How to Pack a Healthy Work Lunch

Salad

Lunch is always a rush for me. I am always running around at work come noon hour so I like to pack easy, healthy meals for myself. Anything that can be thrown into a bowl and eaten in about 5-10 minutes is ideal. I try to have SOME variety throughout the week… but my lunches are usually some sort of salad.

I am kinda obsessed with spinach. I usually have it three times a day… crazy, I know. I stuff the greens in my breakfast smoothies, eat them at lunch in a salad, and use them at dinner in stir-fry’s, casseroles, or sandwiches. Spinach overload.  There are many reasons for my spinach obsession. First and foremost, it is SO good for you (Popeye was on to something). Spinach is packed with fiber which aids in digestion, prevents constipation, maintains low blood sugar, and curbs overeating. It is also great for your bones, eyes, skin, ETC ETC.

Salad

Spinach isn’t the only green in my go-to salads. I love arugula, butter lettuce, and kale in there too, but I don’t buy those every week at the grocery store. I buy the biggest container of spinach they have and usually a medium size baby arugula and one other depending what is on sale/what I am in the mood for.

When I want to stray from my salads (or when I have a small breakfast and need something a little heavier) I make a wrap, sandwich, or bowl of soup. Wraps are easy to pack and bring out at lunch as long as I don’t add sauce to it. I hate soggy bread (gross). I have a bottle of salad dressing in the fridge at work so I just add it to my wraps when lunch time rolls around. I have soup and stew all the time in the winter for lunch but tend to stay away from them in the summer. Homemade soups are obviously way better for you but if you buy your soup from the grocery store make sure you check the nutritional information. Canned soup is loaded with sodium so try to get a low-cal or low-sodium variety.

Sandwich

I don’t have sandwiches often, but when I do I always bring the ingredients separately and them assemble them when I am ready to eat (remember the soggy bread dilemma). The sandwich pictured above is one of my all time favs. The filling is super easy to make – chickpeas, vegan mayo, curry paste – and I top it with avocados. The almond butter and jelly sandwich is another one of my favourite sandwiches for lunch. It works great as a wrap too stuffed with bananas, flax seeds, and raisins.

I usually pack one or two snacks for work to eat during the day. I have a pear or an apple in the morning and a soy yogurt or trail mix in the afternoon.

Trail Mix

 

A few handfuls of trail mix in the afternoon keeps me full until dinner and it is a great source of protein. I try to avoid anything heavy in the afternoon because I work out when I get home from work so I don’t want to be sluggish. The most important thing for me when I am at work is to eat quick meals and stay hydrated.

What do you pack for lunch? Do you have some variety in your lunches?

Happy lunching :)

 

6 responses to “Tips on How to Pack a Healthy Work Lunch

  1. makingthymeforhealth

    I also love spinach in my salads, it’s so healthy! I love your ideas for healthy lunches. I’m always trying to think up something that will be quick and easy but often resort to the same stuff (leftovers, frozen Amy’s meals, etc). Thanks for some great inspiration! :)

  2. Mmmm…the salad looks delicious! I prefer spinach over regular lettuce for my salads. I typically pack leftovers for lunch, so it can be different every day depending on what’s in the house.

    • We don’t usually have too many left-overs in our house. I should be making meals that serve 6 instead of 2, but I make less so I don’t back for seconds!

  3. Ooo! Great tips! I am always looking easy ways to make packing lunch fun. Thanks for sharing :)

  4. Pingback: 1 Year Blogiversary!! | Gotta Eat Green

Leave a Reply

