June Grocery Store Favourites

June

Hello hello! June flew by, didn’t it?? The weather here in Toronto wasn’t the greatest this month so it didn’t really feel like summer. We are finally starting to get some heat..and don’t get me wrong, I love it… it’s just I’m sweating by the time I get to work! So long suit jackets and cardigans, that’s for sure! I just have to figure out what to do with my humidity hair…

This month’s roundup of grocery store favourites has a few treasures that I have been loving for months and a few new ones that I have only recently discovered. I follow a good number of health blogs that I try to read every day. I read the blogs for ideas, inspiration, and interest but what I love most is when I find a new product that a blogger recommends. The bloggers I follow are extremely health conscious (I would even go as far as calling them health nuts) so when they recommend something.. I search and search until I can get my hands on it!

Here is this month’s grocery store favourites:

Truvia

Truvia

Artificial sweeteners are a big no-no in my books but when I first heard of Truvia I was curious to learn more about this natural sweetener.  Truvia is made from rebiana, an ingredient made from the sweetest parts of the stevia leaf. Stevia is a member of the chrysanthemum family, and it has been used to sweeten foods and beverages for hundreds of years. I bought a small container of Truvia a few months ago when I was trying to get away from sugar in my coffee. A few sprinkles of Truvia is equal to two teaspoons of sugar, so a little goes a long way! Although it has a slight after taste, I really enjoyed the sweetness it brought to my coffee. I don’t use this product regularly but when I do it is always a nice sweet treat.

Amy’s Bean&Rice Burrito

Burrito

There’s always an Amy’s Burrito in my freezer. Grant and I love these little things and they make the perfect quick dinner. We usually only get the Bean & Rice burritos but they also have bean and cheese, breakfast, black bean and vegetable, etc. I love that Amy’s also has a huge selection of gluten free products (all of the burritos I just mentioned come in gluten free as well). One bean and rice burrito is 320 calories, which is pretty good if you having it for a meal. They are very filling and oh so delicious!

S’mores Luna Bar

2013-06-26 18.49.58

So Luna bars don’t scream “I’m Vegan” so it makes you question whether or not you should eat them. There isn’t milk, butter, or eggs in the ingredient list for the S’mores bar but the allergen statement claims there may be traces of dairy. I do not touch meat and for the most part I consider myself to be a strict vegan, but when it comes to protein or energy bars if the ingredient list looks good to me then I eat it! That’s all there is too it! I adore Luna and Clif bars so they will always have a spot on my snack and post-workout rotation. The Luna S’mores bar is so so so good! The description itself makes my mouth water: Marshmallow nuggets swirled with graham crackers, topped with dark chocolate.

Vega Sport Gel

Vega

I can’t tell you how much I love Vega products. I featured the Vega One Protein Powder in April’s grocery store favs (found here) but I am loving Vega Sport products recently. The Sport series has fuel to help you prepare, sustain, and recover from your workouts. The Endurance Gel that I am featuring today is a plant-based, all natural energy gel that keeps you going and going (just like the energizer bunny). The website says that the gel is formulated to provide instant and sustained energy plus electrolytes and vitamins during workouts. I stuff one of these in my pocket when I go for long runs and I can’t wait to rip it open and suck it back for that extra push to get through my runs.

Sunflower Seed Butter

Butter

I owe Leanne at Healthful Pursuit a big fat THANK YOU for introducing me to sunflower seed butter. Yes, I had heard and seen sunflower seed butter before but I was never bothered to try it until Leanne posted a recipe for homemade butter. And then my heart fluttered, just a little. Leanne made it look so tasty (like she usually does with every recipe) so I told myself to pick some up next time I was at the grocery store. It was a hell-yeah moment when I found the sunflower seed butter..and it was on sale! Boo-ya! It was meant to be. I enjoyed my first sunflower seed butter experience the best way I knew how, on a piece of toast with some jam. Yup, I’m a fan.

Barlean’s Strawberry-Banana Omega Swirl Flax Oil

Barleans

Angela over at Eat-Spin-Run-Repeat introduced me to Barlean’s Flax Oil. She featured the Omega 3-6-9 Orange Swirl in her June Favourite Things and I was immediately intrigued. I had never even heard of Barlean’s before and like Angela, I was swallowing massive pills every day to make sure I got my omegas. Omega-3 fats offer many health benefits including lowering the risk of heart disease and some cancers. The product Angela featured was not vegan but I inquired to see if they made vegan products and I was thrilled to hear that they did indeed! I went straight to nationalnutrition.ca to order me some Omega Swirl! Ohhh my goodness…it was love at first spoonful with this stuff. It tastes like a strawberry-banana smoothie..Mmm!  Thanks for the recommendation Angela!

And there you have it.

What are some products you discovered this month? Did you find a great product from a blog you follow?

10 responses to “June Grocery Store Favourites

  1. makingthymeforhealth

    I love learning about new products from bloggers. I’ve never seen that Omega Swirl either, sounds really good!
    And I always have Amy’s burritos in my freezer, they’re great for an easy meal!

  2. We always have Amy’s vegan burritos in our freezer so my hubby can grab a quick bike!
    where did you find Barlean’s? I read about it on cottercrunch but haven’t been able to find any in Canada yet…I’m excited now!
    We’re supposed to have a brilliant week and weekend of weather. I’m excited for summer to finally arrive!

  3. So glad you’re enjoying your Barleans as well, Christine! I’m in love with their products and will be ordering more soon because my stocks are running low! Enjoy your new treats!

  4. Those barleans oils are SO expensive…I’d love to try…but so much money…I wonder if its just another trendy over-rated super food that I’d regret buying.
    Nice blog! Love sunflower seed butter.

  5. Thanks for introducing me to the omega swirl product too! It sounds like a smart addition to vegan/vegetarian diets and definitely need to start using it :)

Leave a Reply

