My First Half

Kayak

What a busy weekend! I swear all we do is drive on weekends. To Cornwall, Newmarket, the cottage.. and this weekend we are off to Ottawa! Sheeesh.. the things we do for our friends and family. It’s a good thing I’m an awesome car-snack maker or we’d have a serious rest stop junk food problem.

So I have some very exciting news. I officially signed up for my first Half-Marathon! I am so unbelievably pumped for this, you have no idea!

After deliberating for what felt like weeks, I finally decided to run the Island Girl Half Marathon in Toronto on September 22. There are a few races in the Greater Toronto Area in September/October but the Island Girl race just felt right for me.

Island Girl

Here’s a little Q&A about my first half:

Why did I choose Island Girl for my first half?

  • There are a number of reasons I chose Island Girl for my first half. For starters, I wanted a race that was in Toronto. We do a lot of travelling, so I wanted to do a race that wasn’t far from home and somewhere I was comfortable running.
  • The Island Girl race is on Toronto Island which has a flat terrain. My first 10k was brutal because it had so many hills so I wanted to make sure my first half wasn’t crazy hilly.
  • I also love this race because it is a women’s race! I ran a 5k women’s race and it was so much fun.. girl power!

What training program am I going to follow?

  • I used Hal Higdon’s training plan for my 10k race, and loved it, so I am going to use his half marathon training plan as well. I am going to start with the Intermediate training plan and if I find it too tough I am going to make my own plan using the Novice 2 and Intermediate.

How are you going to mentally prepare for the race?

  • Running is half physical half mental. That may sound funny to some people, but many of you with definitely agree with me. I especially discovered this during my 10k race. I had to tell myself to push harder and keep going, when mentally I was ready to call it quits. My legs were good and my breathing was ok, but my mind was all over the place.
  • For my half marathon I am going to mentally prepare for the race. I’ve read about a few really good books to help with your mental state during races so I am going to pick one up. If you have any suggestions, let me know!

What about my diet? Am I going to stay vegan?

  • Of course I am! My vegan lifestyle is very important to me so I am not going to go back to meat and animal products as I train.
  • I am going to up my protein intake and make sure all of my meals are balanced.

And there you have it. Let the training begin.

9 responses to “My First Half

  1. That is exciting that you have signed up for your first half! I agree with you 100% that running is not only physical but mental as well. I hope you enjoy your training :)

  2. Congratulations! I think I read about that race in Canadian Running magazine. It should be good!

  3. Congratulations on signing up! You’ll be addicted once you cross that finish line :)

  4. makingthymeforhealth

    I love that picture of you and your dog in the kayak! I don’t think I could ever put Coco in one, unless I wanted to bet in the water in the first 30 seconds.
    Congrats on signing up for your 10k! I’ll be looking at that training plan for some inspiration. :)

  5. YAY for your first half! It’s scary and intimidating and also so awesome. And it’s so true that it’s half a mental game. If you just believe you can do it – you can. It’s amazing how much more our bodies can do than we think. Can’t wait to follow along on your journey!

  6. Pingback: Half Marathon Training Update | Gotta Eat Green

Leave a Reply

