Purple Cabbage Salad with Lemon Garlic Dressing

Cabbage

So I planned to make a big beautiful taco salad yesterday to post today, but mother nature had other plans for me. You see, I was going to pick up all the ingredients after work yesterday but the rain was SO heavy I barely made it home alive.

I am not kidding people. Toronto was hit with so much rain it was insane! Cars were submerged, commuters were stranded on trains, and the subway was barely functional.

Check out some of these shots from social media:

Flood

(link)

Flood

(link)

Flood

(link)

It was nuts! Today’s newspapers were filled with stories about how people survived it and the funniest stories were the ones of people who thought they could drive through the massive lakes puddles. I read about one guy who decided the best idea to get passed a puddle IN HIS FERRARI was to drive through it. He made it about 3 meters before his car was submerged and he had to abandon it… idiot.

Ok the storm was bad.. but I swear any time there is less than perfect weather in this city, it is pure mayhem! People forget how to drive, they throw their manners right out the window, and they loose all common sense. It took me twice as long to get home (which is understandable) but I don’t blame the commute, I blame the commuters!

People were pushing and shoving to get on the subway and the doors wouldn’t shut because there were so many people sardined in the cars. I saw people running across the street on a red light and not paying attention to their surroundings – and all this because it was raining! All I can do it shake my head at these people.

Purple Cabbage

Sooo.. ya.  Once I got home I was kind of stuck there. We were away for the weekend and I didn’t get groceries on Sunday night so I had to get creative with the things I had stocked in the kitchen.

I bought a purple cabbage last week with every intention to use it for Angela’s Raw Pad Thai, but I was missing more than half of the ingredients. I really wanted to use the cabbage, so I decided to make a Shredded Cabbage Salad!

Cabbage

I’m pretty excited about this salad. I don’t mean to brag or anything.. but it is really good. The dressing isn’t heavy or creamy and the garlic and lemon are perfectly paired.

It is a great side dish but it can be eaten as a main dish as well. I ate it as I watched Sons of Anarchy on the couch, lights flickering on and off and rain pouring outside my window.

Enjoy!

Cabbage

Purple Cabbage Salad with Lemon-Garlic Dressing
Adapted from Oh She Glows – Over the Rainbow Cabbage Salad
Makes four servings

  • 1 small purple cabbage, shredded (should be about 3.5 cups)
  • 1 big carrot, shaved with a vegetable peeler
  • 1 zucchini, shaved with a vegetable peeler
  • 1/2 red onion, diced finely
  • 3-4 tbsp pine nuts, toasted
  • 3 tbsp golden raisins
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tsp garlic, minced (I used the jar of minced garlic)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp sesame seed oil
  • salt and pepper

1) Preheat oven to 350. Line a baking tray with tin foil and spread pine nuts evenly on the pan. Bake for 6-8 minutes or until nuts are golden. Set aside.

2) Add the shredded cabbage, shaved carrot, shaved zucchini, and onion to a large bowl.

3) In a separate bowl, add lemon juice, garlic, garlic powder, and toasted sesame seed oil. Season with salt and pepper. Whisk until well combined.

4) Add dressing to vegetables in large bowl. Toss until evenly coated. Add raisins and pine nuts. Toss again.

5) Serve immediately or allow to cool in a sealable container in the fridge for a few hours.

Cabbage

How has your summer weather been so far this season?

13 responses to “Purple Cabbage Salad with Lemon Garlic Dressing

  1. I heard about all the rain in Toronto…crazy!! We have a lot of family that lives there. We have been having some crazy rain here too in NY! This is a beautiful looking salad

    • I hope your family survived it! I’ve been hearing there’s a lot of damage to basements.. luckily we are on the second floor of our apartment building!

  2. Oh my goodness I had no idea there was so muh rain! It looks like you had a great cabbage salad to make even though it wasn’t what you had originally planned on.

  3. makingthymeforhealth

    Wow, that is insane! I love the story of the guy in the Ferrari, yes, an idiot indeed!
    I’m glad you are okay and that you were ably to make this salad, it looks great! Your pictures look really good too!! I love the color of purple cabbage, it’s so pretty.

  4. kimathungryhealthygirl

    Wow…. glad you made it home safe! Send some of that rain to Texas! The salad looks light and delish….perfect for summer.

  5. Omg thats nuts!! and this is soo true: “but I don’t blame the commute, I blame the commuters!” people really do lose all common sense in heavy rain and snow. like, the world is not ending people, and if everyone could just keep their heads in the game, it would be a lot safer for everyone. that salad looks delicious. as crazy as your weather was, i always love nights in while its storming outside :)

  6. What a great looking salad you managed to put together with only leftovers form last weeks grocery trip! I love the pine nuts, they just make any dish instantly fancier. Also, I am a HUGE SOA fan. I get so emotionally involved in the episodes! Great, great show.

  7. That salad looks insane!! I love the vivid colors – always implies a healthy meal (unless it’s fro yo colors…!).
    I agree with you – commuters are ALWAYS the cause of traffic. People lack all kinds of regular behavior when weather strikes. So annoying.

  8. That storm was insane! A few friends of mine who live near there told me that it came down in 15 minutes or something. Crazy!

  9. Those floods are crazy–yikes! I guess I can’t complain about the rain we’ve been getting here after seeing that. And I totally think you can brag about this salad–it’s gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

