Frothy Cantaloupe Slushies

melon cocktail

Hey friends. I’ve got an awesome treat for you today. Go raid your liquor cabinets, because today we’re making cocktails! Healthy cocktails of course….

To be completely honest with you, I wasn’t planning to write a alcoholic related post today. It came about because I am the WORST melon cutter in-the-world. I cut the melon in half and then quarter each half – that part always goes great. It is whenever I have to slice the melon that we run into problems.

melon

See look at how pretty those melon halves are (so proud).

melon cocktail

This is my problem. Chunks of melon all over the place! I think I am just terrified of slicing off some flesh that I always just let the knife do what it wants to do, even if that means loosing some precious melon.

I couldn’t let all the melon go to waste, so I grabbed some rum and got creative. It’s five o’clock somewhere, right?

melon cocktail

These cantaloupe slushies are super easy to make! They would be great with honey dew melon or even watermelon (just make sure it is seedless). You can also get creative with the alcohol you add – or make them virgin and don’t add any booze!

I used pineapple coconut water because a) I am obsessed with it and b) I knew it would make a tropical cocktail… and who doesn’t love the taste of the Caribbean!

melon cocktail

Frothy Cantaloupe Slushies

by Christine Shaver

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Keywords: blender beverage vegan

Ingredients (2 drinks)

  • 1/4 cup diced cantaloupe
  • 3 oz Malibu coconut rum
  • 1 oz Triple Sec
  • 6 oz pineapple coconut water
  • 6-7 ice cubes

Instructions

Add all the ingredients to a blender. Blend for about 30 seconds or until ice is crushed. In two glasses add 2 pieces of diced cantaloupe. Pour slushy mixture over cantaloupe in the two glasses.

Powered by Recipage

 

Have you made any amazing cocktails lately? 

What is your favourite summer drink?

5 responses to “Frothy Cantaloupe Slushies

  1. Can’t elope slushed sound like a great summer treat!

  2. makingthymeforhealth

    These make me want to be on a beach! I would have to use watermelon though because cantaloupe and I never got along. :)

  3. How perfect are these for summer?! Cantaloupe is one of my favorite things. :)

Leave a Reply

