July Grocery Store Favourites – PLUS a GIVEAWAY!

July Grocery Store Favs

How is the summer almost over! When did this happen! Remember when we were kids and summer felt like it was never going to end? Our biggest concern what was we were going to have for lunch and what bathing suit to wear to the beach. Siiiigh.. the simple life.

But seriously.. do you think the blue  or red bikini for this weekend?

Here are some of my fav grocery store finds from July.

Synergy Divine Grape Kombucha

Synergy Kombucha

Some of you may have read that title and had absolutely no clue what any of that meant, except the grape part. Well folks, let me break it down for you. Synergy is the company of the drink. Divine is self-explanatory (and perfectly describes this lovely beverage). Grape – you understood. Now let me explain what exactly Kombucha is.  Kombucha is a cultured tea that is fermented bacteria, yeast, and sugar. Health benefits attributed to kombucha tea include stimulating the immune system, preventing cancer, and improving digestion and liver function. The drink is fizzy like a soda so don’t shake the bottle (you will see little pieces at the bottle which is perfectly ok because it is raw). The Divine Grape is so delicious! I was immediately hooked and I will be going back to try the other flavours.. and brands! I want to try Rise Kombucha next.

Luna & Larry’s Organic Coconut Bliss Chocolate Peanut Butter 

luna and larry

Ok, words can’t describe how much I love this vegan Coconut Bliss. I was so excited to try it that I immediately grabbed a spoon when I got home from the grocery store and dug in before taking off my shoes. The ingredient list is so simple, which makes me love it even more: organic coconut milk, agave syrup, vanilla extract, organic PB, and organic fair trade cocoa! SERIOUSLY PEOPLE – it can’t get any better than this. You wouldn’t even know it was dairy free. I think I’m going to test it out on my ice-cream fanatic family members (I’m positive they will love it). I am praying to the good lords that they have the Cherry Amaretto flavor at my grocery store.. I’ll search the entire GTA to find it!

Simply Organic Goddess Dressing

Goddess Dressing

Oh mann.. this salad dressing is good. Like, shove your face in it good.  Simply Organic’s Goddess Dressing is gluten-free and made with natural ingredients such as sesame, soy sauce, garlic, and lemon. I’ve had a lot of salad dressings in my day and this one is at the top of the charts. It is nice and thick and can be enjoyed in a salad, on tofu or stir-fry, or as a veggie dip.

Follow Your Heart Vegan Gourmet Cream Cheese

Vegan Cream Cheese

Mmmm cream cheese and bagels belong with each other. A toasted blueberry bagel with light cream cheese was one of my fav snacks pre-vegan. I was a little skeptical to try vegan cream cheese because I loved the dairy-kind so much.. how could the vegan version even come close? I also thought it was going to taste like tofu.. and tofu on a blueberry bagel isn’t my thing. Well ladies and gents, Follow Your Heart vegan gourmet cream cheese didn’t let me down. I haven’t had the dairy kind in so long that I couldn’t even tell it was vegan – seriously! It is creamy and spreads nicely (bonus points) and although I wouldn’t have it daily, it has found a way back into my life!

Nature’s Path Cranberry Vanilla Qi’a Superfood

Qi'a

Cranberry Vanilla Qi’a Superfood is the ultimate power breakfast. It is made of chia, hemp and buckwheat and is full of plant-based protein, fiber and ALA omegas. It has no added sugar or salt and it is gluten free. I just add a few tablespoons to a bowl with almond milk and let it sit for a few minutes. Once it thickens up I add some almond butter and fruit and dig in! It keeps me full all morning which is important when I’m at work and don’t have time to snack. You can also add Qi’a to your baked goods or smoothies for some extra good stuff. I picked this up at the Bulk Barn but I imagine most health food stores would carry it as well.

Cookin’ Greens Frozen Athlete’s Mix

Cookin' Greens

Let me begin by telling you how much I adore Cookin’ Greens products. They are so delicious and so freakin’ easy to prepare, there’s never an excuse NOT to add them to absolutely everything! I add the chopped spinach to my smoothies and the athlete’s mix (collards, spinach, kale, red pepper, and white beans) to pasta dishes, stir-frys, etc. Their products are farm picked within six hours, double-washed, double blanched, chopped and quick-frozen, locking in all of their flavour and nutritional benefits. How awesome is that? They also have chopped rapini, chopped kale, and another mixed bag (designer).

Cookin' Greens Giveaway

The folks at Cookin’ Greens have generously offered to treat two lucky people to 3 FREE coupons for Cookin Greens products!! All you have to do is leave a comment telling me what product you would buy and how you would use it. I’ll randomly select two winners. For additional entries please follow me on Twitter at @gottaeatgreen (comment again letting me know if you follow).

Open to Canadian readers only.

Good luck! Come back on Friday to find out if you’ve won!

11 responses to “July Grocery Store Favourites – PLUS a GIVEAWAY!

  1. The coconut ice cream with chocolate and peanut butter sounds AMAZING! I must try that soon! These cooking greens also sound interesting! I would like to try the athletes mix and the chopped rapini. The athletes mix would be great to add to eggs and stir frys and I don’t think I have ever had rapini. I’m always down to try new foods!

  2. I follow you on twitter @fruitnfitness.

  3. makingthymeforhealth

    I’m loving all of your grocery store favorites this month! I need to try Kombucha again.
    The athlete’s mix looks like it would pair perfectly with a veggie burger for an easy weeknight meal.

  4. I would love to try the spinach!

  5. I’ve never tried their product but the athlete’s mix sounds delish! Im following you on twitter!

  6. I am yet to try the Coconut Bliss ice cream. I bet its amazing.

  7. I live in Toronto and I would love to try the Athlete’s Mix. In fact I would love to try any of their products.

  8. That coconut ice cream sounds amazing and I love the Kombucha! It’s SO good. I would love to try any of there products!

    By the way, I nominated you for the Liebster Award! Check out my post on August 8th for details! :-)

  9. Pingback: Engagement Party Signature Drinks | Gotta Eat Green

  10. Pingback: August Grocery Store Favourites | Gotta Eat Green

Leave a Reply

