Engagement Party Signature Drinks

Grant and Christine

So I guess apologies are in order to start today’s post. I up and vanished without so much as explaining why. Oops. To be honest, I needed a break. But I’m back and I have fun things to share!

Cookin' Greens Giveaway

For starters – thanks to those who entered the Cookin’ Greens giveaway! The lucky winners are Kelli and Kirsten! Send me an email at gottaeatgreen@gmail.com with your address and I will send your coupons!

I have so much to catch you up on. We had our engagement party the weekend of August 2 and it was so much fun! We got engaged last year on August 4 – so it is kind of crazy that our engagement party was August 3 of this year. We celebrated when it first happened but we never had all of our loved ones together to have a big party. Grant’s cottage is finally built so we thought it would be a great opportunity to have a engagement party and a chance for everyone to check out the beautiful cottage!

Kelli

We had about 60 people from all over the province. Our friends and family are so awesome and we were blessed to have them travel just to celebrate with us. Some people brought campers and tents (the property is huge) while others stayed in the cottage or at a nearby motel.

Girls

Engagement Party

Only 3 of 7 bridesmaids could make it which kind of sucked but I totally understood (it was the long weekend after all). Grant had 6 of 7 groomsmen so he did pretty good. All of his guys are so great and it was really nice to get them all together!

The food at the party was out of this world. We had an amazing caterer and they did not disappoint! We had cedar smoked trout, beef sliders, sweet potato salad, quinoa fruit salad, ETC. SO SO GOOD!! They even went out of their way to make special dishes for me (vegan) and for Grant’s sister (celiac). Here’s one of my favorite pics from that weekend. My sister trying the vegan tofu appetizer (as you can see she wasn’t a fan).

Kelli

Grant’s brother’s girlfriend, Meagan, made us a BEAUTIFUL cake.. actually beautiful isn’t the word for it.. it was honestly spectacular. She rocks at what she does. You can check out more of her cakes here.

engagement-cake

So onto today’s main topic…

My friends and family all know I make a MEAN martini. I was known in university as a mixologist when it comes to booze! My specialty was making Jell-0 shots. Check out some of my past creations:

Jello

Strawberries and Cream

IMG_0368

Sangria

IMG_0593

Choco-Banana (my best one..ever)

I was preeetty good at what I did. I haven’t made them in so long because I haven’t been able to find a good gelatin substitute. I’m still on the hunt, so if you know of any good vegan ones let me know!

So where am I getting at with all this booze talk? Well, we had two signature cocktails at the party. I researched and tested recipes for weeks, trying to come up with two wedding themed cocktails. After one too many fails, I finally found two that I loved..and they were a huge hit!!

Blushing Bride

How original right? The name of this cocktail is a no-brainer but the recipe is out of this world! It is a twist on a cosmopolitan (which is my favourite martini). What makes this drink is the Pinnacle Red Licorice Vodka! It is so good! I bought it thinking I could maybe have it here and there on the weekend but after tasting it I knew it had to be part of one of the signature drinks. I definitely recommend it!

Recipe
Makes 2 drinks

  • 4 oz red licorice vodka
  • 1 oz triple sec
  • 3 oz cranberry juice
  • 1.5 oz lime juice

Add all the ingredients to a cocktail shaker with ice. Gently shake and pour into two glasses. Garnish with a cherry or lime wedge. Add more cranberry/lime juice if you desire.

 Golden Groom

Yet another original name, I know… I am so predictable! But I seriously couldn’t think of a better name for this drink, it was so fitting. This is definitely the sweet drink of the two. It reminds me of a Bahama-mama (it sort of is I guess). Whatever you want to call this one, it is delicious! This one went so fast at the party. It reminded everyone of the beach!

Recipe
Makes 2 drinks

  • 2 oz rum (you can use white rum, coconut rum or dark rum)
  • 2 oz banana liquor
  • 2 oz pineapple juice
  • 3 oz orange juice

Add all the ingredients to a cocktail shaker with ice. Shake and pour into two glasses. Garnish with a pineapple or orange wedge.

——

Thanks for hanging in there during my hiatus.. I’ll be back with more updates!

13 responses to “Engagement Party Signature Drinks

  1. Ahh congratulations on your engagement! What a fun party, and that photo of your sister eating the tofu is hilarious! More for you!

  2. what a fun engagement party!! looks like a blast! and omg i wish we went to college together, we def would have been friends :) those jello shots are the cutest (and yummiest) ive ever seen!

  3. It sounds like you had a fabulous engagement party! I’m sure your bridesmaids who were not able to make it were still partying with you in spirit :)

  4. Looks like a great time! So nice to get to celebrate your engagement a year later — keeps the party rolling as you plan your wedding! I totally want to try the Golden Groom :)

  5. How fun!!! That cake is FABULOUS and the drinks sound delicious!! Thanks for the recipes!

  6. makingthymeforhealth

    Your party looked like so much fun and you looked beautiful!
    I love that picture of your sister eating the tofu, hilarious!
    I’ve heard agar agar is a good substitute for gelatin and I’ve also used a brand called Simply Delish that makes flavored gelatin and it was really good.

    • Thanks Sarah! I’ve used agar agar before but it was a long time ago, I may have to revisit it. I haven’t tried Simply Delish yet – thanks for the suggestion!

  7. wow, that cake is fabulous and the drinks sound so delicious!! :-)

Leave a Reply

