August Grocery Store Favourites

Favs

So long summer.. hello fall! Seriously – where did summer go? I’m not going to ramble about this but MAN was my summer busy. It just flew by! I am thrilled fall is here though..this girl loves fall!

As always, I’m just going to jump right in to my favourites for this month. I have some things on the list that clearly are not food.. or from the grocery store. But they are my fav purchases from August so I just HAVE to share them with you!!

Hemp Hearts Raw Shelled Hemp Seeds

hemp hearts

So this was actually my first time buying hemp seeds. I’ve heard so many good things so I finally decided to pick some Hemp Hearts at the grocery store! Like the website suggests, I have been sprinkling them on cereal, salads, and adding them to roasted veggies. Verdict? Really good. Not a punch of flavour, but I wasn’t expecting too much. Oh and the health benefits – per serving, Hemp Hearts contain 10g of easy to digest protein and 10g of Omegas. Not bad.

Zico Chocolate Coconut Water

Zico Coconut water

Grant and I were obsessed with coconut water this summer. We guzzled the stuff down week after week.. and it was awesome. We had a lot of original coconut water and pineapple coconut water and then we discovered Zico chocolate! I swear it tastes just like chocolate milk! So so yummy. I have to stop myself from drinking every single one we have stocked in the fridge. It is an amazing treat after a long run or just when I am feeling some chocolate! Yum!

Maple Caramel Tofu Dessert

Maple Caramel

So this is another new to me grocery store pick-up. I was really intrigued by the different flavoured tofus that my grocery store had, maple caramel caught my eye so I went for it. I used the Sunrise Maple Caramel tofu in a dessert and it was really yummy!! I tried a bite of it alone first and although it was pretty good, I preferred it once it was mixed in with my dessert (I’ll post the recipe soon). So verdict on this one? Not bad.

Primeal Quinoa Crisps

Primeal

I love these quinoa crisps by Primeal! They are like rice crisps (duh) but they are thinner and actually crispier. I have been eating them with almond butter, natural peanut butter, and hummus. They make a great snack!

Tonica Peach Resolution Kombucha

Tonica

I won’t go into too much detail about what Kombucha is, you can get that recap if you missed July’s favs. I have been a big Synergy fan when it comes to Kombucha but I thought I would branch off a bit and try Tonica (gotta support the Canadian brands). I picked up the Peach Resolution and I love it! It is so tasty and refreshing – a definite winner in my books. I love how natural it is (naturally sparkling and low sugar). Oh and Kombucha is an excellent digestive aid if consumed about 20 minutes before meals and helps improve pH balance.

Nikon D5100 Camera

Camera

I bought a new camera! YIPEE. I’m so excited about it! My point and shoot was great and all but I was WAY overdue for a new camera that was a little more advanced. This one looks so pretty and it does so many fun things. I ordered it a few days ago but I hope it comes in the mail soon!!

Garmin Forerunner 310XT

GPS

I also bought a gps training watch! I am so in love with this, you have no idea. This is my first one, I had been using my iphone and the Nike running app before (newbie, I know). This watch has been good so far, the only downfall is that it takes a few minutes for the satellites to kick in. It’s a bit of a pain waiting but I haven’t had to wait more than a few minutes so I can deal with it. Yay for new purchases! My bank account is hurting a bit now.. :)

Have you bought any big purchases lately?

What was your favourite grocery store find in August? Excited for anything in September?

27 responses to “August Grocery Store Favourites

  1. I think that was a good choice for your first hemp seed purchase! I’m obsessed, and I have the same brand in my fridge at the moment. Also, that chocolate Zico is my FAVORITE! And it’s healthy, right? :P

  2. I’ve been enjoying lots of Celestial Seasonings Kombuchas since there’s a café of CS products on campus. I’ve been wondering about the Zico chocolate coconut water and you may have convinced me to try it! I love plain coconut water, but the chocolate just seemed weird to me. Maybe it’s not! :)

  3. I’ve never seen tofu in a dessert flavour before, that’s intriguing! I didn’t buy too many new products in August because I was trying to get rid of everything we had in our fridge and pantry, so I’ll have to let you know for September ;-)

  4. Those quinoa crisps look so good! Also, congrats on your new camera! I was so excited when mine came in the mail, I took pictures of every little thing. No big purchases for me so far, but I’m hoping that the new Macbook comes out soon so I can get a hold of it. My current Macbook is on it’s last legs!

  5. makingthymeforhealth

    Yay! Congrats on your new camera. You’re going to love it!
    I can’t believe that coconut water tastes like chocolate milk. I have to try it!
    I’m also loving hemp seeds right now. Angela (at OSG) just posted a hemp seed pesto that I really want to try. Sounds so healthy and yummy!

  6. I’m SUPER jazzed about your new Garmin, and camera…but that TOFU!? OH MY GOSH I must have that tofu.

  7. I need a point and shoot camera, Im asking for one for Christmas! Im jealous!

  8. So many fun finds! That tofu looks really interesting haha! I’ll take your word for it that it was good :).

    I have a Nikon D5100 too! It’s a fantastic camera! I’m getting a new kitchenaid mixer soon and couldn’t be more excited :)

  9. That caramel tofu looks tasty! :)

  10. Sooooo jelly of your new camera!! I didn’t know hemp seeds had that much protein in them!? Must purchase some soon.

  11. Congrats on the new camera and Garmin!

    I’ve been really loving hemp hearts lately too. I love that they pack so much nutrition into such a small serving! I love kombucha too, but I just haven’t been able to get on board with Tonica. I prefer Rise, GTs, or a local brand called Cathy’s.

  12. I am a huge fan of Hemp Hearts I love the taste of it on everything! I havn’t found many new things at the grocery store lately. Its been a busy month :( Can’t wait to see your pics with the new camera.

  13. i’ve never bough hemp seeds! now i need to :) and i lovvve kombucha! i drank a lot of that in august :)

  14. oh peach kombucha sounds really good! I usually get lavender gt’s

  15. I have that watch! It’s great for cycling and swimming too!

  16. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the page layout of
    your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to
    say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

Leave a Reply

