Creamy Corn Dip

Creamy Corn Dip

Ohhhh boy. I’ve got a treat for you today.

But first, I have to know.. are you guys wearing winter coats yet? The other day on my way to work, I saw not one.. not two.. but three people wearing wool coats. And not just any wool coats…big winter style coats, with scarves!! For my readers outside of Canada, it is not that cold here all year round; the temperature that day was 17°C (62F), that is not wool coat weather! And then I saw a few people wearing knee high leather boots and leggings with their dresses. Does anyone else think this is too early?? I’m still wearing sandals!

I will admit that it has gotten A BIT chilly. I try to get my outdoor runs in before dark because once it gets dark it gets pretty chilly and I don’t want to get out my winter running gear yet. But wool coats.. c’mon…

I have been looking for a good rain jacket ever since my Lululemon Right as Rain jacket was ruined last year. The zipper got destroyed when I shut the car door on it and Lulu wasn’t able to fix it. They did send me a gift card for the amount of the jacket, which I was thrilled about! Gotta love them!

lululemon

(image source)

Well that gift card was used almost instantly on some things I have had my eye on for months.. (hello new limits tanks) but now I don’t have a jacket. Right as Rain has a few new colours this season. I’m loving the dark blue… but I have to stop myself from purchasing it! I just bought a bunch of new things.. and I do have a wedding to save for.

Christmas gift maybe? Wink wink.. nudge nudge.. Grant..

Kelli me

So onto today’s main event. I went back home last weekend to go wedding dress shopping with my mom, sister, mother in law, and Grant’s sister, so while I was home we decided to have a girls night with all of the girls from my mom’s side. It was really fun to hang out with my cousins, aunts, and grandmas (my dad’s mom was there too) and just eat and drink. We had a ton of good food; most were not vegan but my grandma made her amazing baked beans vegan just for me. My sis also made a quinoa salad and made a small bowl without cheese for me.. so much love!

Family

I made this creamy corn dip!  The first time I made this dip was in the summer at the cottage and it was a big hit! Everyone loved it, even the “vegan haters” who swore they would never like my vegan concoctions! So I decided it would be a good fit for girls night.

Creamy Corn Dip

Unfortunately we totally forgot to take it out of the fridge. Ooopsie.

My dad and I ate the dip on top of a fresh baguette the next day and it was GOOD.  You could also have it with corn chips, pita bread, or chopped veggies. AND you can eat it cold or hot. Either way it is delish.

Creamy corn dip

Creamy Corn Dip

by Christine Shaver

Prep Time: 30 min

Cook Time: Cool 1 hour

Ingredients (makes 2 cup)

  • 3 cobs of corn
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1/4 tsp both salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup vegan cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup vegan sour cream
  • 1 1/2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 baguette

Instructions

1) Husk the cobs of corn and wrap them in tin foil. Heat in BBQ on medium heat for 10-15 minutes. Flip after 8 minutes. Unwrap one of the corns at 10 minutes to make sure they haven’t burned. They should be toasted and cooked at about 15 minutes.

*Note – you can cook the corn however you want (bake in oven, boil, etc) but I love the flavours that come with bbq’ing.

2) In a large frying pan, heat olive oil over medium heat. Once hot, add the diced onion. Cook for 7 minutes or until onion is soft and golden.

3) With a sharp knife, slice the kernels off the cobs of corn. Add corn to the frying pan with the onion. Season with salt and pepper. Continue to cook for 5 minutes, stirring often.

4) In a medium microwave safe bowl, add cream cheese. Heat in microwave for 30 seconds. Stir and add sour cream. Add nutritional yeast, season with salt and pepper, and stir to combine. Remove onion/corn mixture from stove and add to creamy mixture. Stir to combine.

5) Wrap bowl in tin foil or transfer to container with lid and place in the fridge for at least one hour. The flavours will be amazing if you let it sit.

Powered by Recipage

 

Onion

Corn

Corn

DSC_0026

Yeast

To serve: 

1) Heat dip in the microwave for one minute. Stir after 30 seconds. Cut baguette and serve with dip.

or

2) Remove dip from fridge and serve cold with cut baguette.

Some unrelated news

Courtney

You guys should all go check out Sassy Blonde Cancer Be Gone. An old friend of mine from Queen’s has been diagnosed with cancer for the forth time and she started to blog about her journey. Courtney is one of the sweetest and most courageous people I know. Seriously you guys, she is strong and absolutely hilarious. Read her blog.. this girl is unbelievable.

If you have the funds, I would also love for you to head over to Courtney’s Donation Page. The goal is $10,000 to ensure Courtney can focus on her health and look forward to beginning the next chapter of her life.

Much love. xox.

19 responses to “Creamy Corn Dip

  1. That corn dip looks and sounds phenomenal!! Great that Lulu sent you a gift card. Hopefully someone gets the hint and gets you that rain jacket for Christmas :)

    Not good about your friend getting cancer again. I’m going to go check out her blog now.

  2. I would’ve never thought to put corn in a dip but I want to try that! Best wishes for your friend, Courtney! I wish her lots of health and happiness and hope that she gets better soon!

  3. The corn dip sounds really good, as does wedding dress shopping and spending time with your family. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend, Courtney. My mom had breast cancer and I know how hard that was, I can’t imagine being diagnosed 4 times.

  4. That corn dip sounds like something my mom used to make (though it was not vegan and very much so terrible for you). Can’t wait to try it out!

    I’ll keep your friend in my thoughts.

  5. That was nice of Lululemon to send you a gift card to replace your jacket. I agree, 62 degrees isn’t near cold enough for full winter gear.
    The corn dip looks delicious! You can’t even tell it’s vegan by looking at it.

    Thanks for sharing your friends blog. Whenever I feel like life is full of problems, I remind myself of people like her who are struggling just to stay alive and it helps keeps me grounded.

  6. Omg this corn dip sounds SO yummy! It takes me back to my childhood- I used to eat creamed corn all the time…something tells me it was nowhere near as healthy as your recipe! Thanks for sharing :)

  7. this dip sounds fantastic!!! I think we also need to have a Toronto bloggers potluck cause I want to eat everything you make! Also the weather in T.O. has been spastic! I can’t deal with it…

  8. That’s so nice of Lulu! I would of loved the gift card, it’s like having two pieces of clothes for the price of one. :)

    Nobody is wearing winter coats because San Francisco is famous for our Indian Summers, meaning it’s foggy from May-July and starts getting warm between August-October.

  9. Mmmmmm this would be SUCH a dream on a crusty baguette! Thanks for sharing :)

  10. That corn dip looks SO good! I love the sweet corn paired with saltier things. Perfection :)

  11. Buy High Quality Cheap ugg cheap ugg for sale. cheap ugg Women

Leave a Reply

