Zucchini Bread Pancakes + Half News

Pancakes

So Grant is not a big fan of pancakes. In fact, I can count on one hand the amount of times I’ve seen him eat them in the last 6 years. He finds them too doughy and just not that appetizing. The first time Grant ever went to my parents house my sister made him a big batch of chocolate chip pancakes for breakfast one morning. I had to hold in my laughter as Grant stuffed those pancakes down his throat.. he wanted to be polite and eat them but the beads of sweat rolling down his face told me he wasn’t enjoying them. Gotta love him for being a trooper.

Pancakes

Knowing Grant doesn’t like pancakes, I like to put my thinking cap on once and awhile to try to see how I can make them good enough for him to eat. I know I can’t make them plain because then they will be too doughy, but at the same time I can’t stuff them with fruit or sauce because he doesn’t like soggy pancakes either.

I made apple cinnamon pancakes a few months ago that were pretty good, but even though he said they were good, I could tell they weren’t great. He didn’t go back for seconds.. that’s a clear sign they weren’t his fav.

Apple Cinnamon Pancakes

When I woke up on Saturday morning I knew I had to prove I could make a killer pancake. Cooper and I got busy in the kitchen whipping up some Zucchini Bread Pancakes as Grant snoozed and when he woke up, breakfast was waiting. I didn’t want to stare at him when he took the first bite but I was so curious about what he thought! These were his first words:

“These are really good!”

I was so excited! And then he went back for seconds! AND THEN later on that night, he had them again!

Win for me.

Oh, did I mention he only eats pancakes with Aunt Jemima  syrup? He doesn’t like real maple syrup. WHO DOESN’T LIKE REAL MAPLE SYRUP. GAH. I cringe every time he takes that Aunt Jemima bottle out of the fridge.

Pancakes

Zucchini Bread Pancakes
Makes about 14 small pancakes

  • 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup quick oats
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 5 tbsp hot water
  • 1 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 banana
  • 1 1/2 cup zucchini, shredded
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp organic cane sugar
  • 3 tbsp sultana raisins

1) In a large mixing bowl combine the flour, oats, baking powder, and cinnamon. Set aside.

2) In a medium mixing bowl combine the ground flax and hot water. Stir and let sit for 2-3 minutes until it is thick.

3) In a small bowl mix the almond milk and apple cider vinegar. Let it sit for 2 minutes.

4) Add the banana to the flax mix and mash. Add the almond milk mixture, shredded zucchini, vanilla, and cane sugar. Mix well.

5) Pour the wet mixture into the flour mixture. Stir until just combined. Add the raisins and gently mix.

6) Grease a large frying pan over medium heat. Once hot, add about 2 tbsp of mixture to the pan – repeat depending on how much room is in your pan.

7) Cook pancakes for about two and a half minutes on each side. Once browned, remove from heat and repeat with remaining batter.

Flours

Flour

Baking
(cutest helper ever)

—-

Half Marathon News

Island Girl

So I have some bad news this morning. I’m not running my half this weekend. I’m disappointed and sad and ahh. It just sucks.

With all the physio and resting after physio, my running schedule kind of took the back burner. I should have given myself another month or two to prepare. This was the firs time I have ever trained for this kind of distance so I guess it’s a live and learn experience.

Although I am disappointed that I won’t be able to run the race this weekend, I know that it is the smartest thing for me to do. My knee isn’t quite ready for it yet. I ran 10k yesterday and although it was good while I was running, afterwards I could barely walk.

Ah well. I guess the training starts for the spring?

Have you ever had to back out of a race? 

Pancake lover or hater? Real or fake syrup?

25 responses to “Zucchini Bread Pancakes + Half News

  1. Aw I am sorry to hear about your half… that’s a tough decision to make but seems like the right one. There are always more races :)

  2. You made the right decision! My leg is acting up again (the result of half-marathon training 9 months ago!!!!) so I’m taking a few days off. I feel your pain thought, literally!

    Also my best friend only uses aunt jemima syrup…don’t even get me started on that one!

  3. Your fiance sure sounds alot like my husband…lol. He’d generally pick just about any other breakfast food before he picked pancakes. Simply cereal always seems to win out. This recipe looks great though…I may just have to serve this up to him and see what he thinks!

  4. Haha, I never knew that about Grant, this is why he is the best brother in law ever! That’s disappointing news about your half :( maybe we can start training to do one together in the spring, pre-wedding run perhaps?

  5. Mmmm, I am a huge fan of zucchini in pancakes. (or carrots, or banana, or apple…) But Jay would definitely raise his eyebrows on adding something green to one of his favorite breakfasts. So funny that Grant actually prefers them with some veggies inside. He’s a keeper ;)

  6. I’m sorry to hear your not going to be able to run the half, but I’m glad you made the right decision for your knee. These zucchini bread pancakes sound amazing! Of course I would want to top then with real maple syrup, my favorite is one my friends parents make that has walnuts in it too.

  7. Sorry about your half!! it sounds like you’re making the right choice though, it wouldnt be smart to push it. and yay for your pancakes being a hit with Grant!!! i love your perseverance in the face of a non-pancake-lover :) persistence pays off! (and no, i cant understand the maple syrup thing :) )

  8. Mmm I bet these taste like zucchini bread! I always judge whether my husband goes back for more as a sign of if he loved it or not too :-)

  9. How can you not like pancakes?! At least he liked these- they look delicious! A great way to use up the last of the zucchini.

    Sorry to hear about your race but I’m proud of you for making the decision that is best for your body long term. Not running a half marathon is better than not running at all later in life.

  10. These sound sooo good! That’s so funny Grant doesn’t like pancakes! I guess to each their own :)

  11. Aww bummer about your race!! I fortunately haven’t had to back out of any races yet in my life. I thought I was might have to last February, but I made it! These pancakes look SO GOOD!

  12. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures

    Those pancakes look amazing!! I think that’s such a good idea to put zucchini in there – I think I’d love them too (but unlike Grant, I ADORED AND LOVE AND AM IN LOVE WITH pancakes!).
    Bummer about your race – but that’s the lovely thing about it all – there will be other races to work toward. Sounds like you’re doing what’s best for you and that is ultimately all you need to do in the world. :)

  13. yum, zucchini bread pancakes, I love pancakes. Probably my favorite meal for any meal :)

  14. I will eat all the pancakes your husband won’t eat! And to make you feel better, I think I’m going to drop out of my 1/2 in November. My shin splints are so bad, my doctor did an MRI on me and I’m just waiting for the results right now. Not a good feeling.

  15. Two Healthy Kitchens

    Oh, yum! These pancakes look amazing! And hey – don’t worry too much about Aunt Jemima (baby steps – first you got him eating pancakes, so Aunt Jemima can’t be far behind!). Love your cute cooking helper, BTW (I have a similarly helpful little guy)! Hang in there on your running recovery. So important not to push it and then be sorry later, although it’s such a bummer that you couldn’t run this time around. You’ll get through it, even though it totally stinks now! ~Shelley

Leave a Reply

