One Year Vegan + What do Vegans Eat?

1-Year-Vegan

I have been vegan for a whole year! I am quite proud of myself for adopting this new life style and sticking to it. There have been a few slips throughout the year but overall I’d give myself an A for my diet change.

Since becoming vegan, I have gotten a lot of questions from people about what I eat. Some are concerned I’m not getting enough vitamins, while others are just plain curious about how I’ve changed my eating habits.

One of the great things about my new lifestyle is that I have been eating a lot more veggies. Yes, I had salads and veggies before being vegan but I would say I’ve doubled my intake over the past year. This is great for so many reasons – but mostly because I am getting a lot of vitamins the natural way. It is really amazing how many different veggies are out there! I’ve been brave and creative in the kitchen and the results have been fantastic!

Before getting rid of meat completely, I only had it 4-5 per week. Red meat was a rare occurrence and my dinners were usually chicken or fish. I was eating dairy only because I thought I “had to” to get enough calcium. But like meat, I didn’t have dairy all that often. Yogurt was a staple in my diet and I occasionally had cheese, but I wasn’t eating it every day.

I had eggs maybe once or twice a week and they were usually egg whites. Eggs are tricky because they are in a lot of things you wouldn’t automatically think of finding them. Pretty much all baked goods have them but they are also found in: canned soup, fresh pasta, salad dressing, protein powders, mayonnaise, and breaded foods. You really have to do your research and read labels to ensure that what you are eating is vegan.

Here are some of my go-to meals and snacks:

Breakfast

Smoothie

Snacks

Trail mix bar

Lunch

Salad

  • Salad – my go-to lunch. Usually spinach/kale mix with beans (black beans or chickpeas), cucumbers, avocado, peppers, dried cranberries, sunflower seeds, and olive oil/vinegar dressing.
  • Wrap – stuffed with spinach, hummus, tomato, avocado, sprouts, and other veggies I have.
  • Stuffed Sweet Potato –  another favorite. I bake a sweet potato the night before and then to prepare it for lunch I heat it up and stuff it with some sunflower butter, avocado, pecans, and kale (I heat my kale before adding it).
  • Spaghetti Squash – I cook a big spaghetti squash at the beginning of the week and use it for lunches. I add tomato sauce and some beans to it or mix it up with mushrooms, kale, and garlic.
  • Frozen Amy’s Burritos – I keep these in the freezer in case I don’t have time to pack a lunch. They are super easy (pop in the microwave for 3 minutes) and it saves me from having to go out and buy lunch.
  • Leftovers

Dinner

Spaghetti

And there you have it! I also make baked goods and other treats on occasion.. but I try to eat healthy most of the time. On the weekends I like to make bigger breakfasts like french toast, cinnamon buns, breakfast sandwiches, biscuits, etc. It’s the best time to try out new recipes when I am not scrambling to get to work.

Treat Bar

What is your favourite thing to have for lunch? Do you have the same thing every day?

Do you make big breakfasts on the weekend?

17 responses to “One Year Vegan + What do Vegans Eat?

  1. Congrats on a successful lifestyle change! Some of those sandwiches you’ve been whipping up some delish! :)

  2. Weekdays are for oatmeal and weekends are for pancakes or waffles!! Congrats on an awesome and successful year :)

  3. Congrats on your vegan anniversary!!

  4. Yay congrats! I love eating veggies, don’t like meat but I probably have yogurt and eggs every day. Eek that would be so hard for me! My go to weekday breakfasts are usually fruit and yogurt, oatmeal or overnight oats. On the weekend alwayssss a stack of pancakes (or two!)

  5. congrats!! you make it look so delicious to be completely vegan, although i dont think i could do it. my downfall would be eggs and fish actually. i love those 2 things soo much. but i also eat a LOT of tofu, its so yummy :)

  6. Congrats for making it a full year on the diet of your choice. I don’t think I would have a problem cutting out meat, I only eat it when my boyfriend is in town but I know I would miss yogurt.

  7. Well done on going for a year :) All your usual eats sound delicious.

    For lunches I usually do salads, soups in winter and then sushi or rice paper rolls if I’m buying my lunch.

  8. Congrats done on a full year! That’s excellent! I do like to make bigger breakfasts on the weekends when I can, especially saturday morning pancakes! Nothing beats a good pancake :) Have a great weekend!

  9. YAY for a year!! I made it to the year mark in March, WHOOHOO!! I LOVE making bigger breakfasts on my days off.

  10. Nice job on one year! I eat mostly vegetarian, but I think I would find it really hard to be vegan. So kudos!

    For lunches I like to have sandwiches, homemade bean patties with roasted sweet potato, rice and tofu bowls, or bean and quinoa salads. Or just leftovers. I change it up everyday!

  11. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures

    Congrats on Vegan for one year! That’s quite the feat! I can imagine that almost everything you find in regular places have eggs like you said… so it’d be super hard to stay vegan everywhere you go. You’re a rock star! :)

  12. Great post! Me and my sister have been vegans since January 2013 and we love it so much. Have so much more energy! Happy to find other vegan or just health conscious blogs :) Keep shining!

Leave a Reply

