Special Surprise Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Sweet Potatoes

I’m all about the comfort foods lately. I’m talking the big pots of chili and creamy mashed potatoes with home style biscuits. Does it seriously get any better than that?

These mashed potatoes came to be out of my love for sweet potatoes and coconut. I can’t recall if I’ve told this story before on the blog, but Grant hates coconut. He hates everything about coconut. When he was younger he was a string bean (cuuuute) but he needed to bulk up quickly for hockey. His coach suggested he drink tons coconut milk and 20 chicken drumsticks before each meal (yes, he would eat that in addition to his meals – CRAZY). Oh he bulked up alright – full fat coconut milk and dark meat will do that to you – but now he cringes when I add coconut milk to meals.

Sweet Potatoes

I have been dying to add coconut milk to my sweet potatoes for ages.. but I was too scared to add it and then have Grant not eat them because of the coconut. Last night I said “screw it” I’ll eat the whole batch, and I made the damn potatoes with coconut milk.

Ladies and gents, he ate them. He didn’t notice the coconut milk.

Another win for me.

Sweet potatoes

Special Surprise Mashed Sweet Potatoes
Makes four servings

  • 2 big sweet potatoes
  • 1 cup navy beans
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp Earth Balance, vegan butter
  • 2 tbsp chives, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp each salt and pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom
  • 1 tsp maple syrup

1) Fill a big pot half full of water and heat on high on stove top. Peel sweet potatoes and dice them into chunks. Once water is boiling, add to pot.

2) Boil potatoes for about 10 minutes. Stab a chunk with a fork and if it inserts easily they are done. Remove from heat and drain.

3) Preheat oven to 350F. Add navy beans and coconut oil to a food processor. Process for about a minute. Add sweet potatoes and process for another minute.

4) Scoop into the pot you boiled the potatoes in. Add coconut milk, Earth Balance, chives, salt and pepper, cardamom, and maple syrup. Mix well.

4) Scoop mixture into a casserole dish and cover with tin foil. Bake for 15 minutes. Remove tin foil and bake for another 10-15 minutes or until top is a little crispy.

**Optional: I drizzled some coconut milk on top of mine but obviously I didn’t do this for Grants.

Sweet Potatoes

Beans and coconut milk

Chives

Mashed sweet potatoes

Sorry for my lack of posts this week! Work..again.. takes up all my time.

Toronto Blogger meet up tonight! SO excited!

Are you a fan of coconut milk?

Have you ever attended a blogger meet up or conference?

12 responses to “Special Surprise Mashed Sweet Potatoes

  1. This looks like it would be a great side dish for Thanksgiving dinner! Yummm!

  2. SO excited to meet you too! These look awesome. I always make my mashed potatoes with coconut oil but never would have that to use coconut milk. Such a great idea!

  3. Okay, these sound freakin’ amazing! If I were you, I would have wanted Grant to not like them so I could eat the whole batch to myself! ;)
    I’ll have to give this one a try for sure.

    Have fun at your blogger meetup! I wish I lived in Toronto because I love all of you Canadian ladies. Can’t wait to read the recaps! :)

  4. If I were to swim in a bowl of any food, this would be it. Can’t wait to try (and it was so nice meeting you tonight)!

  5. It was awesome meeting you last night! And these look amazing – you can’t go wrong with sweet potato…or coconut milk!

  6. Yum, that looks so good, and filling, perfect for a cool fall day. I use Thai Kitchen coconut milk, too, it’s really good quality. I haven’t been to a blogger meetup or conference though I’m probably overdue to treat myself to something like that.

Leave a Reply

