September Grocery Store Favourites

Grocery store

Hey guys! Now that September is over, let’s take a look at some of my favourite grocery store purchases!

Earth Balance Coconut and Peanut Spread

Earth Balance

Coconut + PB = perfection. When I saw this in the grocery store in Massena I was so excited to buy it. I don’t think they sell this in Canada (not in any grocery stores I’ve visited anyway). It was love at first bite! The PB is so creamy with just the perfect hint of coconut. I like a PB with a VERY short ingredient list (just peanuts) so I was a bit disappointed that this PB had agave and palm fruit oil in it, as well as the coconut oil. It is delicious but I wouldn’t have it every day. For 2 tbsp it is 190 cals, which is pretty close to any other natural PB.

So Good Chocolate Soy Milk (individual size)

So good

I love these little soy milk boxes. They are the perfect serving of chocolate soy milk after a good workout. I prefer plain almond milk to soy milk but chocolate soy over almond? Ya I’m weird like that. There are 150 cals per box and 6g of protein. Not too bad for a post workout recovery drink!

Muesli Fusion Pure Super Muesli          

Muesli

This is the first time I have purchased this muesli. I saw it right before I got to the check out line at the grocery store the other day and it was an immediate “throw this in the cart asap” moment. I have been enjoying it with almond milk and fresh berries and it is delicious! The flavours are awesome together and it’s an A+ in my books because it has coconut in it (I may need an intervention soon). It is also packed with oats, quinoa, almonds, chia seeds, cranberries, and hemp seeds! Whoa baby. Super muesli indeed!

Seasoned Rice Vinegar – Roasted Garlic

Rice vinegar

Recently I decided to shake things up with my potatoes.. I added this roasted garlic rice vinegar to them, and BAM, amazing potatoes. Just a small bit goes a long way. The garlic flavour adds quite the punch. It is gluten free so those who can’t handle wheat can enjoy it. One tablespoon is 20 cals but the sodium percentage is a little high. Enjoy in moderation!

Triscuit Brown Rice & Sweet Potato Caramelized Onion Crackers

triscuits

Wow – that was a mouthful. Have you guys tried the brown rice Triscuits yet? I bought these for Grant because he complains that he doesn’t have enough quick snacks but I was hooked when I tried one! They don’t taste the same as regular Triscuits. They are crispier and really highlight the onion flavour. I had a handful with some hummus and it was the perfect snack!

President’s Choice Nutrition First Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Dog treats

So these aren’t for me (obviously) but Coop loves them so much I thought they were perfect to share! We try to feed Cooper the best dog food/treats for his health, which means getting natural dog food and treats. These treats have one ingredient – sweet potato. How amazing is that?? They contain no wheat, corn or soy and there are no artificial colours or flavours. They are highly digestible and are suitable for sensitive stomachs. I have no problem giving these to Coop when he’s a good boy… so he really only gets about one a week ;).

What were your favourites purchases this month?

Looking to get something special in October?

14 responses to “September Grocery Store Favourites

  1. Oh that muesli looks great! I have been loving hazlenut butter.

  2. I’ve been dying to try that coconut peanut butter!!

  3. Need to get my hands on that rice vinegar! I downed a bag of nud fud cacao crisps in under 5 mins the other day. Pricey but they are sooooo good!

  4. That coconut peanut butter looks to die for. Hopefully it comes to Canada soon!

    So lovely meeting you on Friday :)

  5. I hope that Canada gets on that coconut PB soon, I really want to try it! And I’ll keep an eye out for those dog treats, I’m always looking for healthy ones for Atticus.

  6. I really like those triscuits, they are so full of flavor. I have been wanting to try that peanut coconut butter but have a few jars of nut butters I need to finish up first.

  7. I loved the ginger syrup I purchased last month. I tried it on so many things!! http://helloveggy.com/2013/09/25/ginger-syrup/

  8. Whoa, those Triscuits sound awesome! I haven’t seen those yet but I’ll probably be getting a box soon.

    Coco would love those sweet potato treats too. I can’t believe that there’s only one ingredient in them. That’s like, unheard of.

  9. I’ve been meaning to try the brown rice triscuits! with that glowing review i’m going to have to pick some up next time im at the grocery store. and that pb/coconut spread sounds delicious!!

  10. I have been wanting to try those Triscuits–they sound so good!

  11. I’m pretty sure I’ve seen that coconut PB in a grocery store in Burlington!

Leave a Reply

