Weekly Plan October 7-13

homecoming

I hope you all had a great weekend! Mine flew by. I was in Kingston for Queen’s homecoming and it was so much fun. I loved being ‘home’ and getting a little taste of Queen’s life again.

If you live in Canada you’ve probably heard of Queen’s homecoming and how crazy it was a few years ago. The Aberdeen street party was the biggest party of all homecoming and hundreds of people filled on to Aberdeen to party. When I was in third year they decided to cancel homecoming because the parties got so out of hand.

That didn’t stop people from organizing ‘faux-coming’ and filling the streets once again. The police and the university caught on and they sent police officers from all over the province to come keep things under control. Police officers lined the streets with guards and in full gear and some even rode around on horses.

homecoming

 

(’10 in front of Grants house on Aberdeen)

After three (?) years of ‘faux-coming’ Queen’s finally decided to bring homecoming back this year. The streets were packed with people and there were keggers and bbq’s all over the student housing area but I think students were pretty well behaved.

I can’t wait for next year! Cha gheil.

Weekly Plan

Last week Recap

Last week I did pretty good. I followed my meal plan preeetty closely. I switched around the meals a bit depending on what time I got home from work and I really enjoyed some of the recipes I made. I did have some vegan cinnamon buns on Friday and take out a few times on Saturday (in Kingston) but overall, not too bad.

My workouts were great.. until Friday. I had great workouts Monday-Thursday and then the weekend came and I didn’t get any in. Ooops. Finding time to fit workouts in is something I have to work on.

This Week

Workouts

Monday: 5km run, leg workout
Tuesday: 3km run, 20 min elliptical
Wednesday: yoga class
Thursday: rest
Friday: 5km run, arm circuit
Saturday: 8km run
Sunday: rest

Meal Plan (dinners)

quiche

Monday: Leftover tofu quiche
Tuesday: Veggie and rice soup
Wednesday: Baked butternut squash with beans and avocado
Thursday: Spinach/Kale salad with vegan chicken fingers
Friday: Packed sandwiches for the car ride
Saturday: Thanksgiving dinner
Sunday: undecided

muffins

Weekly Goal

My goal this week is to do two morning workouts! This one is going to be a struggle. I leave to go to work every morning at 7:30 so to get in a workout in the am I’ll have to get up between 5-5:30. Oh boy.

What’s your goal for this week?

Any plans for thanksgiving weekend?

17 responses to “Weekly Plan October 7-13

  1. Yay to morning workouts! You can totally do it… I am excited to hear how it goes. It is definitely an adjustment but I love starting the day with a good sweat. Looks like homecoming was lots of fun!

  2. So awesome that Kingston got a homecoming this year! I remember seeing the pictures a few years ago and it was intense. That level of security sounds like London on St. Patrick’s day nowadays – after we had our Fleming Drive riot a year and a half ago, last year was intense in terms of police presence.
    Good luck with your morning workouts!

  3. Kudos to you if you can get those morning workouts in! I always thought I was an early riser until I was introduced to the crazies in the HLB world who wake up before the crack of dawn. Impressive but I just can’t do it.

    Homecoming looked awesome! Bout time they brought it back!

  4. Haha I so agree with Davida. I thought 6:30-7AM was early for a workout until I starting blogging and you guys are up before the roosters are!

  5. Your meal plan sounds so yummy! Good luck with the morning workouts. I love love love morning workouts but I start to struggle as the days get shorter and it’s dark in the morning.

  6. Ooo those muffins look good- what are they?
    I’ve been having trouble keeping to my weekend workouts too, our weekends are just always packed!

  7. My goal this week is to get all my workouts in for marathon training. It’s going to be a little tricky because my daughter has a horse show this weekend, but I’ll do my best. One day down, 6 more to go!

  8. Wow, I’m very impressed by your meal and workout organization! Way to go! As for me, tonight I did a pure barre class with a friend and I’m hoping to get in one more pure barre class (at least), two runs, and a surge training session. Have a great week!

  9. I haven’t heard of the Queens Homecoming – sorry, stupid Albertan over here. Our news is centred on oil, pipelines and tumbleweeds. Hahaha!

    My goal for this week is to not have a nervous breakdown with starting a new job, managing school, gym, sleep, etc. :D

  10. Recipe for the veggie and rice soup? :)

  11. Haha, I love that your holding coconut water and liquor in the same picture. Way to stay hydrated!! ;)

    I think you’re doing pretty good if you only missed workouts on the weekend. My weekly workouts have been hurting because of how busy I am so you’re doing great!

    I can’t believe it’s Thanksgiving already in Canada. I guess you guys just can’t wait that long! :)

  12. You can do the early morning thing! It just takes getting used to. It’s amazing how much more you can accomplish in a day when you get the workout in early. I love it! I’m not vegan, but that quiche looks super tasty!

Leave a Reply

