Pumpkin Apple Crisp [Vegan and Gluten Free]

Apple Cirsp

To all of my Canadian readers.. who is ready for Thanksgiving!?! Our favourite little fall holiday is this weekend and I can’t wait to stuff my face with goodies when I get home. I’ve never been to or had an American Thanksgiving..so I can’t compare, but I love Thanksgiving for one reason – family time!

Grant, Coop, and I are road tripping to Cornwall after work on Friday to spend Thanksgiving with my family. I’ve already planned a few side dishes to make for Thanksgiving dinner on Saturday night and I have no doubts that my mom has already started her “this is what we can do as a family while you are home” list.

She mentioned the Pumpkin-inferno at Upper Canada Village a few days ago that actually sounds pretty cool.

Their website invites you to…

Come and stroll through a hauntingly beautiful and spellbinding outdoor exhibit of now close to 6,000 hand-carved pumpkins, set against a stirring night-time backdrop just inside the gates of historic Upper Canada Village. Marvel at this eclectic display of scenes from exotic places and historic ages, meet up with forest animals and sea-born creatures, see story book heroes, mythical characters, cultural icons and more …. all carved from pumpkins!

pumpkin

If we end up going I will tell you guys all about it. I’m actually pretty excited for this family outing. Let’s hope it doesn’t rain! Click here to check out last year’s inferno.

So back in August I posted an instagram pic of a peach crisp I made that was SO good. I also featured the picture in my August Instagram pics and I had quite a few people ask for the recipe. I haven’t had the time to make it again to take better pictures so I thought I would switch it up a bit and make an apple crisp using the same recipe. Oh and pumpkin.. I’m adding pumpkin to it as well.

Apple crisp

Maybe we can add apple picking to our ‘family to-do’ list this weekend. I have been trying to drag Grant to an orchard for weeks now. Maybe if I promise more apple crisps and pies he will bring me.

Pumpkin Apple Crisp [Vegan and Gluten Free]

  • 10 small/medium McIntosh  apples
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree, not pumpkin pie mix
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 cup large flake gluten free oats*
  • 1/2 cup all purpose gluten free flour*
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp all spice
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup organic cane sugar
  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance, vegan butter (cold)

1) Preheat oven to 375F. Grease a 9×9 baking dish.

2) Peel, core, and slice apples. Add to a medium size bowl and stir in pumpkin puree and 1/2 tsp cinnamon.

3) In a large mixing bowl, combine oats, flour, xanthan gum, cinnamon, all spice, brown sugar, and cane sugar. Add butter and cut with a pastry cutter (you can also use your hands to mix, just work quick so the butter doesn’t melt). When it is crumbly you know it is ready.

4) Add 1/2 cup of the flour/butter mix to the apples/pumpkin. Stir to combine. Add apple mixture to the baking dish. Top with the flour mixture, ensuring it is evenly coated.

5) Bake, uncovered, for 40 minutes.

Apples

Apples

Apple Crisp

Do you like Canadian Thanksgiving?

What are your plans this weekend?

19 responses to “Pumpkin Apple Crisp [Vegan and Gluten Free]

  1. This looks sooo yummy! I am so excited for Thanksgiving. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving long weekend xo

  2. Girl! Forget the new fiance! Marry me! So I can eat your glorious, glorious food all the time! I joke…sort of. :-)

  3. I love that you combined apple and pumpkin. This sounds perfect for Thanksgiving! Hopefully you get to go apple picking too. I’ve never been but it sounds like so much fun. And a great excuse to make more of this!

  4. Well you heard my rant on Canadian thanksgiving;) Thanksgiving or not I would totally wolf this down! Hope you have an awesome time with the fam xo

  5. This looks delicious!! We don’t do any kind of thanksgiving here in Australia :)

    This weekend I’ve got my first half marathon on Sunday so doing nothing apart from that.

  6. Yum! I’ve made three batches of Apple Pumpkin muffins in the past two weeks and this looks like a great way to switch it up. I’m incredibly excited or “Canadian” (read : real) Thanksgiving. I have’nt been able to see my family or my pup in too long so I’m ecstatic to go back home, go apple picking and just relax.

  7. Looks like this might be a HUGE HIT during the holidays :)

  8. I WANNA GO TO THAT PUMPKIN INFERNO! OHH my gosh!! I am so jealous! Also, I have been dying to make an apple crisp the last month so THANK YOU for posting this!

  9. That recipe looks great! I’m going to a Pumpkin Festival this weekend. It’s one I go to every year with some friends and we pick pumpkins and eat funnel cakes and I always end up buying a handblown glass pumpkin from this one vendor. Have a great weekend!

  10. Two Healthy Kitchens

    Love this recipe! So fabulous with both apples and pumpkin together! I hope you have a wonderful holiday weekend! Oh – and I can tell you that the very best part of American Thanksgivings is the family time, too! :D

  11. This weekend I’ll be heading to Napa Valley for some vino! That pumpkin inferno looks so cool! I would love to visit and check that out! Happy Thanksgiving!

  12. I love Thanksgiviing and cannot wait for all the side dishes, the best part in my opinion. This crisp looks fantastic! I would have never thought to add pumpkin!

  13. Brilliant adding pumpkin into the mix! These just screams fall!

    Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving :)

  14. Article writing is also a excitement, if you be acquainted with afterward you can write otherwise it is complex to write.

Leave a Reply

