Chunky Curry Butternut Squash Soup

Soup

This soup is so easy to make.. you are probably asking why I am even blogging about it. You might make this soup already and call it your “super easy butternut squash soup recipe” but I’m obsessed with it and need to blog about it. It’s easy and delicious.

And man oh man, is it ever a good soup.

Soup soup soup.

soup

I don’t know about you guys but [most of the time] I don’t follow recipes very closely. When it comes to baking.. sure, follow the recipe; but cooking? No way. I add what I want and flavour recipes differently almost every time I make them. A girl needs some variety, you know?

Soup especially, is something I like to get creative with. Sometimes I’ll add rice, other times pasta. A can of tomatoes one time turns into simple veggie broth another.

DSC_0187

When I post a soup recipe I almost feel bad about it because chances are I will never make that soup exactly the same.. ever again [mouhahah].

I’ve seen so many recipes for Butternut Squash soup lately, I just had to jump in and make one! As you all know I’m not big on spices so please feel free to add more curry to your soup if you like it a little spicier.

Squash

Butternut squash is my favourite squash to cook with. I’ve yet to try kabocha squash (I can’t find it anywhere!!) but I keep hearing amazing things about it. My Toronto people, where are you finding this rare squash? Every time someone tells me where to find it I run to get it to be disappointed once again.

I blame it’s disappearance on food bloggers. You peps are obsessed (I totally would be too IF I COULD GET IT).

Until I finally locate it.. I’ll stick with my butternut squash. It hasn’t let me down yet.

squash

Chunky Curry Butternut Squash Soup
Serves 3-4

  • 1 medium butternut squash
  • 2 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 1 Golden Delicious apple, peeled and chopped
  • 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/4 tsp each salt and pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1) Preheat oven to 350F. Cut the butternut squash in half lengthwise and drizzle with 1 tbsp olive oil. Place cut side down on a baking sheet lined with tin foil. Bake in oven for 30-35 minutes or until a knife can insert easily. Remove from oven and set aside to cool.

2) In a large saucepan on medium heat, heat 1 tbsp of olive oil. Add diced onion and let cook for 5-7 minutes, or until golden. Add celery and chopped apple. Heat for about 5 minutes or until apple is soft.

3) Peel or cut the skin from the butternut squash. Chop one of the halves into small pieces and set aside. Scoop the other half into the saucepan with veggies/apple and add vegetable broth, water, curry powder, salt and pepper, and cinnamon. Heat for 2 minutes (stirring with a spoon or whisk) and then pour into a blender (if you have a small blender you can do this in two or three batches). Blender for 30 seconds (or until everything is blended).

4) Return to saucepan and add the chopped butternut squash. Put the heat to medium-low and let simmer for 15-20 minutes.

What is your favourite butternut squash recipe?

Do you prefer baking or cooking?

17 responses to “Chunky Curry Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Yum, can’t wait to make this!!

  2. Sobeys on Balliol off yonge south of Davisville has them! And the St. Lawrence Market!!!! Get on it girl!

    This soup looks AMAZING! Wanna bring me a bowl at the office? I forgot my lunch…

  3. I never follow recipes too closely! I am not much of a baker though so this only applies to cooking. The soup recipe looks delicious!

  4. Can you believe I have never tried butternut squash before? I will have to soon!

  5. This sounds amazing, thanks for sharing!

  6. Mmm… I love everything squash and curry! I think my favorite butternut squash recipe would be my risotto that includes it – delish! (http://www.olivesnwine.com/2013/03/04/creamy-butternut-risotto/) And I think I prefer baking… although I still love cooking in general… baking is just so therapeutic!

  7. Yum! This looks really good. I have a hard time choosing between butternut squash risotto or lasagna. Both of them are really good!

  8. YUM! This looks so good, and so perfect for fall!

  9. I’ve always wanted to make a butternut squash soup, and the addition of curry sounds perfect!! Hopefully I can remember to try this out when I get back home for winter break!
    I love both cooking and baking – as long as good food is involved, I’m in. ;) But with the holidays nearing, I’m sure I’ll be all about the baking when I return home!

  10. Butternut squash, Golden Delicious and curry?!?!? A match made in Heaven, no doubt! Looks just phenomenal, Christine!!!

  11. Mmmm, I would absolutely LOVE this – butternut is my fav soup, but I’ve never had a chunky version. YUUUUM

  12. This looks delicious!! My husband was literally JUST talking about how he wanted to make something with butternut squash and this looks epically easy!!!

  13. This definitely looks like something I’d make! I love easy recipes and though butternut squash isn’t my favorite, I’d be willing to give it a shot! :)

Leave a Reply

