Healthy Spooky Almond Joy Bites [vegan and gluten free]

Almond Joy

My obsession with all things coconut continues [do I say this every post]!! It has been going on for years now, so I’m pretty sure it will always and forever continue. But anyyyywho.

Halloween is just around the corner and we all know what that means.. candy! Lots and lots of candy. And chocolate. Butt loads of chocolate. Last year was my first vegan Halloween and it wasn’t easy. I cheated, a lot.

I had gummy bears.

And Reese peanut butter cups.

And Mars bars.

And salty, no-way-can-they-be-good-for-you chips.

Eeeeeek. I didn’t know how to stop! And I didn’t know how to make delicious vegan candy back then. Ahh so young and ill trained. I usually don’t even eat THAT MUCH candy at Halloween, but I think just knowing it was wrong made it sooo much better.

We bought candy to give out to kids, but I have no idea what we were thinking… you see, we lived on the 10th floor of an apartment building. No kids were coming, and we knew that.

Almond Joy

This year I decided to get ready early. Because I wasn’t eating sugar last week, you can imagine how HARD it was to make these and not take a bite. Not one single bite was eaten while making these.

Oh the progress I’ve made in self restraint this past year.

These little Almond Joy bites are delish! I adore them with my whole coconut loving heart. They are so darn easy to make and there is no refined sugar added to them! WINN.

Almond Joy

I ran out of [vegan] Enjoy Life chocolate chips when I made these babies though. I used 60% cocoa chips.

I guess I’m a 60% better vegan than last year??

…ok, maybe 40%. Don’t judge.

Healthy Almond Joy Bites [vegan and gluten free]

Makes about 15 balls

  • 1/4 cup + 1 tbsp  coconut milk
  • 2 cup finely shredded coconut
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup vegan/gluten free marshmallows, chopped
  • 1 cup vegan chocolate chips
  • handful of almonds and shredded coconut

1) In a medium size bowl, combine coconut, coconut milk, vanilla extract, and chopped marshmallows. Mix well (get in there and use your hands if you have to). Once mixture starts to stay together (not crumbly) add to freezer for about 10 minutes. If you find the mixture is still very crumbly, add a tsp of coconut milk (more if needed).

2) Remove coconut mixture from the freezer and taking roughly 1 tbsp at a time, roll into balls. If the balls are crumbling very easily, return to freezer for a few minutes to harden. Once balls are formed, return them to the freezer for 15 minutes.

3) While the balls are hardening, prepare the chocolate. You can heat the chocolate in the microwave (heat for 30 seconds, stir; repeat until melted) or on the stove. I prefer to use a double boiler and heat on the stove. To do this you take a pot and fill it half way with water. Heat on medium heat and place another bowl on top of the pot (make sure it is bigger so it doesn’t go INTO the pot). Pour chocolate chips into the bowl and let them melt. Once melted, turn off the burner and keep the bowl on the pot while you dip the balls (I prefer to leave the bowl on so that the chocolate stays melted).

4) Remove balls from the freezer. One at a time, roll the balls in the chocolate. Use a fork to lift the ball from the chocolate and place on a wire rack with wax paper underneath. Push an almond on top and sprinkle with coconut. Let cool for 10-15 minute and then transfer to fridge to harden. You can store them in the fridge or freezer.

Baking

Baking

 

Baking

 

Baking

 

What’s your favourite Halloween candy?

Are you all about the sweets or the salty?

28 responses to “Healthy Spooky Almond Joy Bites [vegan and gluten free]

  1. WOW these look incredible! How is there no added sugar in these? You’re a genius! Can I come over and eat the whole batch? I’m definitely a sweets girl.

  2. Amazing! Can you save me one for our date next week :) pretty pleeeeease

  3. These make me wish I liked coconut.

  4. These sound amazing! Almond joy’s are probably my favorite candy bar and these sound much healthier!

  5. These look so good! Cannot go wrong with chocolate and coconut.

  6. Going to try these for sure! Dark chocolate is my guilty pressure!

    -Elise @ 9toFit.com

  7. These look and sound incredible!!

  8. I love everything about these including your love of coconut…I’m on a kick, too!

  9. I LOVE almond joys and these look amazing.

  10. These look amazing!! I have all of the ingredients except it looks like I’ll need go to buy some marshmallows pretty soon! Chocolate+coconut+almonds=favorite combination.

  11. These are just so pretty! Yummy, yummy! And I totally loved your confession about buying Halloween for the little trick-or-treaters even though you lived on the 10th floor and knew not a single tiny goblin would be ringing the bell! Hilarious! You’d better make sure those little goblins don’t know about these amazing Almond Joy Bites, or they’ll be BUSTING down your door this year, for sure! :D

  12. Oh I LOVE coconut! These look amazing. I totally feel ya on the whole kids coming to the apartment thing. We can sign up for kids in the building to trick or treat but we never actually do because we usually are not home!

  13. holy moly these sound amazing. I adore coconut lately, can’t get enough

  14. Ooooo! These are perfect for the Halloween party I am having next week! I love all things coconut! Thanks for sharing!

  15. I LOVE dandies marshmallows! They’re my favorite! And as it happens I have a recipe coming up with those too :) I can’t wait to try these almond joy bites though! They look amazing!

  16. THESE LOOK SOOO GOOD. I love love LOVE almond joys (and anything coconut)

  17. I love coconut too! I have somehow only recently discovered coconut though. Not sure why I didn’t have it before!

  18. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures

    Those Enjoy Life chocolate chips are amazing and so perfect for a healthier chocolate recipe! :) These look adorably delicious! I have yet to hop on the trend of making ‘balls’. :)

  19. These look amazing! I’m seriously obsessed with coconut too – especially when combined with chocolate.

    I’m 100% a sweets girl. My favourite Halloween candy is mini Hershey’s cookies ‘n cream bars and Caramilk bars!

  20. Pingback: 1 Year Blogiversary!! | Gotta Eat Green

Leave a Reply

