Mushroom Lentil Kale Soup

Soup

Thanks for the comments on Sunday’s post. After some clear thinking I realized carbs aren’t the problem. You guys are right. I just need to start focusing on healthy proteins and clean eats and not worry about the scale. I love Kathy’s suggestion to measure inches instead of using the scale. I used to do this all the time.. and I am going to get back into it to track my progress!

I love our little blog community :).

Soo.. when did this cold weather sneak up and smack us in the face. Walking my 5 minutes to the subway in the morning is painful right now. I’m wearing my in-between-fall-and-winter work jacket and it is not cutting it. This girl needs a little more heat.

But busting out my winter jacket isn’t going to happen yet either.

I can’t handle the extreme temperature changes of outside and in the subway. It goes from frigid to humid/unbearably hot in no time at all. I have to rip off my scarf and jacket in the jam packed subway or else I don’t think I will make it past two stops.

Anyway.

Soup for lunch is key for cold weather. A nice big bowl of veggie soup is pure perfection. Can’t really go wrong with it.

Soup

This soup looks kinda like swamp water. BUT  it is tasty. Really, really tasty.

And you can feel good about eating it. There’s lots of kale loaded in here, oh and some peas and mushrooms just for fun.

I’ve had this soup for the past four days for lunch. And I may be finishing the batch up right now… as I write this post…

Soup

And it’s all gone.

Mushroom Lentil Kale Soup

Makes 4-5 servings

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 cups mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 can lentils, drained
  • 2 1/2 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 cups chopped frozen kale
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp each salt and pepper

1) Heat olive oil in a big pot on medium heat. Add the onion and cook for 5-7 minutes. Add the minced garlic and continue to cook for about 3 minutes.

2) Add the mushrooms and heat for 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Once mushrooms are cooked (browned) add the lentils, vegetable broth, water, maple syrup, kale, peas, bay leaf, cumin, and salt and pepper. Place lid on the pot.

3) Heat on medium for about 15-18 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes. Remove the bay leaf before serving.

Lentils

 

Mushrooms

 

soup

What’s your favourite fall soup?

Kale: yay or nay?

20 responses to “Mushroom Lentil Kale Soup

  1. YAYAYAYAYAY for kale. This soup looks perfect for the cold weather! By the way, you might need your winter coat when you visit Kingston. It’s very chilly here!

  2. This looks absolutely delicious! I am glad you are feeling better about your eating — I completely agree about lean proteins and veggies. My advice: hide the scale. I am 3 weeks scale-free. Sure, I’m tempted to step on it but I just gotta keep pushing through. SOO AMAZING seeing you last night. Must again soon :)

  3. Kale is definitely a yay for me, but mushrooms are a nay! Still this soup looks so warm and delicious. Truth be told, I can feel the warmth coming through the screen.

  4. This looks so good!!! I really am displeased with this weather. I’d pin the recipe but then the chances of it getting made are very small, so I’ll just keep it in mind next time I’m craving mushrooms and lentils :)

  5. Crazy healthy soup right there!!! I have to say my favorite soup of all time is FISH STEW. It’s not really a fall thing, but I just love seafood so when I can have multiple types all in one dish, I am a VERY happy girl! ;)

  6. Oh this soup sounds fantastic! I love mushrooms and lentils, and am learning to really like kale. Warm soup really is perfect for cold fall nights and lunches.

  7. First off this soup sounds great, I recently found a new liking for kale after a I made a kale, bean & sausage soup the other day.

    Also I feel you with the cold weather, it’s tough getting up and going to the gym in the morning when I know its going to be FREEZING outside

    -Elise @ 9toFit.com

  8. YAY for kale, but NAY for mushrooms..I would make this soup with potatoes subbed for mushrooms! Soup is my favorite right now.

  9. Mushrooms, lentils, AND kale?! These are some of my favorite ingredients! This soup would be a perfect lunch for fall. :)

  10. This looks awesome! I’ve been searching for a lentil soup recipe lately, so it’s like you read my mind. Also I have a theory that the ugliest soups are the ones that are the most delicious. I make a black bean and sweet potato soup that is basically just a bowl of ugly brown liquid, but I swear it’s amazing haha.

  11. Oh that looks so good! I love lentils, especially in soups! And Kale is one of my favorite things ever. I’ve eaten two heads of kale in the last two days. I’m sure that’s normal :)

  12. I LOVE LENTIL SOUP! I actually made a big batch last night – YUM! I love steaming kale and dumping a pile on top of the soup. Definitely YES to kale! :)

  13. Yum! All of my favorite things in soup form. Looks so delicious!

    I’m glad you made the decision to put away the scale. Obsessing over it only makes it worse. It sounds like you are on a good track girly!

  14. I think you made a great decision! Since I’ve given up using the scale I feel a lot better for it. Sometimes numbers or measurement can make us too caught up but it should be about how you feel.

    That soup looks delicious. My fav soup is Sarah from Making Thyme For Health’s Mushroom and Barley soup by far, it is so so good!

  15. I know I’m a bit behind on this, but this soup looks delicious!! Kale=favorite. I also agree that using the scale is only semi important, it’s really about how you feel :)

  16. Two Healthy Kitchens

    You’re hilarious – swamp water?!?!? Too funny! Actually, what it totally looks like is deeee-licious! I’m so intrigued by the combination of maple syrup and cumin in among the other flavors. Oh – and as to your question about kale: YAY, YAY, YAY!!!!! :D

Leave a Reply

