What a Week

Salad

Hi guys! Wow.. I’ve had quite the week! Sorry for the lack of posts lately. Work has taken up all my time this week… oh the life of politics. One minute we are busy busy, the next we are even busier. 

I’m not going to get into it.. but…I have to say SOMETHING. 

Mayor Rob Ford.

Wow.

Hahaha. Ok I’m done.

To switch things up today I thought I’d share what I’ve been up to this week… in pictures. Yes, I am taking the lazy way to fill you in.

At least it is something right?

Beet Cupcakes

1) Last night when I got home from a 11 hour day at work.. I wanted chocolate. Lots of chocolate. I had half a can of beets in the fridge so I thought, why not make some beet cupcakes? Totally normal thing to do. I made Minimalist Baker’s Fudgy Beet Cupcakes, but instead of sprinkling them with cocoa I squeezed some orange juice on top and sprinkled with powdered sugar. Delish.

Breakfast

2) This will go down as one of my favourite brunch meals of all time. Seriously.. so good. Oh, what is it you ask? Well it comes from Fresh and it is their Full Breakfast: scrambled tofu with grilled spinach, baked beans, home fries, toast & your choice of grilled vegan sausage or tempeh bacon. Gah. I want some now.

Seed Bar

3) Not going to lie.. I have this seed bar probably twice a week. It comes from a place called Sliced which is conveniently a five minute walk from my office. There is so much stuff packed into this little bar, I don’t even know where to start. Dried cranberries, hemp seeds, chia seeds, granola, almonds, raisins, pumpkin seeds, etc.

Davida, have you tried this one? And with the coconut water = perfect snack.

 

Beerfest

 

4) For my sister’s birthday last weekend we had our second annual Beer Fest. It was lots of fun! We had four teams this year and boy were they competitive. I had to step in on a few occasions. I didn’t have a team this year so I was the referee. I think I had way more fun as the ref than I would if I had been participating. What can I say, I like to be the one in charge.

office

 

5) I don’t talk too much about my day job here on GEG.. but I feel like I have to explain why I have been MIA lately. I work crazy hours. Usually 8am-7pm. I love my job but I am pooped this week. Thank goodness I have Monday off for Remembrance Day.

What have you been up to lately?

Big plans for the weekend?

 

25 responses to “What a Week

  1. Wow! Sounds like you’ve been crazy busy! No big plans this weekend although I wouldn’t mind having an extra day off! :)

  2. That seed bar looks really good- and so does your brunch! Making me hungry, girl!!

  3. It is so hard to keep up with blogging when work gets busy! I wish I could just work less, you know? ;)

    Those beet cupcakes look fantastic! I’ve never tried baking with beets but you’re making me want to.

    I hope you have a restful weekend!

  4. I LOVE that brunch from Fresh! I wish I was able to get it more often, but usually my weekends are too full! They should bring in the midweek brunch just for me ;)

    Hope your work slows down soon!

  5. Invite me to sliced next time you go!!! I’ll get you a 15% discount at least :)

    I love the minimalist baker!

  6. Wow!! All of your food looks so good!! Seriously… I could go for one of those seed bars right about now!!

  7. These cupcakes look so good! I’ve never baked with beets but its look like fudgy cupcake so I may just have to try!

  8. You’re inspiring me to finally take the plunge and bake with beets. I love them (a lot!) in savory dishes so I don’t see how sneaking them into baked goods could be a bad thing. Especially since that’s probably the only way my husband and daughter would ever eat beets.

  9. Wow! Sounds like you’ve been insanely busy! I love that you guys have a birthday beer fest – totally fun!!!! :D One of my friends once celebrated her b-day by throwing herself a chili cook-off party – it was a blast!

  10. 11 hour days? Eee! I don’t blame you for feeling a little out of sorts! And yesterday was all about the chocolate for me as well! I got hit with a mad craving in the afternoon that wouldn’t go away until I demolished at least half a bar of dark chocolate. There’s nothing that stuff won’t fix :D

  11. Um hello delicious week! It might have been busy but wow. Yum! Have a great weekend lovely — next date, Fresh for brunch!

  12. A beer fest sounds like so much fun- love the idea!

    That brunch and that bar…..I’m actually getting hungry looking at it!

  13. Oh my gosh I can’t believe all this Rob Ford stuff! What a week.

    That brunch from Fresh looks fantastic! If you ever need a brunch buddy, let me know. ;)

    Enjoy your weekend girl!

  14. Wow you do work some long hours!!

    I don’t even know who Rob Ford is :/

    Those cupcakes looked amazing!

  15. HAHAHA I love all these Rob Ford shenanigans – I think it’s absolutely hilarious. Am I evil for saying that?

  16. ROB FORD IS A TOOL but he and this entire controversy/scandal provides hours of awesome entertainment as the Edge folks continue to rag on him LOL

Leave a Reply

