Creamy Avocado and Broccoli Soup

Broccoli Soup

Yesterday was amazing. I haven’t had a ‘me day’ in so long, and I really really enjoyed it. I spent the morning cooking/baking and watching the Remembrance Day tributes on TV. It was really moving to see the groups of people, performers (trumpet and choirs), and veterans all gathered together.  It made me so thankful for what we have and what people had to go through for us to have it.

After a busy morning in the kitchen, I showered and headed out the door. I had to grab a few groceries and I decided to get a little shopping in as well.

When I got home I relaxed on the couch with Cooper for a bit. Coop isn’t used to having someone home with him during the day, so he did a lot of this:

Coop

After a few too many ‘Four Weddings Canada repeats’, I headed out again, to the gym. I ran 3km and then came home and showered and started to make dinner.

On the menu was roasted sweet potatoes and creamy avocado and broccoli soup. Mmmmm this soup is so creamy [as the title suggests] and it is really filling. I topped it with a few slices of avocado, but it’s fantastic without the added slices.

Broccoli Soup

After a good meal and great company (Grant), we headed out the door to the gym, again. Grant signed up at the gym I’m at.. which is so exciting (gym date nights). I went to my Zumba class and Grant headed home because he didn’t have his running shoes.

It was a great day off. I can’t wait for my next one!

Creamy Avocado and Broccoli Soup
Makes 3-4 servings

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 1/2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 4 cups broccoli, chopped
  • 2 avocados, pitted
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp all spice
  • 1/2 tsp each salt and pepper

1) In a large saucepan on medium heat, add olive oil. Once hot, add the onion. Let cook for 5-7 minutes or until onion is browned.

2) Add the vegetable broth, water, and broccoli. Place the lid on and let boil for about 10 minutes, or until the broccoli is soft.

3) Pour half of the broccoli soup in a blender with one sliced avocado. Blend for 30 seconds. Remove from blender (pour in separate bowl) and add the second half of soup and the second avocado. Blend for 30 seconds. Pour the blended soup into the saucepan (with the other half of mixture) and add the almond milk, all spice, and salt and pepper. Stir and let simmer on medium-low for about 5minutes.

4) Remove from heat and serve.

Avocado

Broccoli

Broccoli Soup

Broccoli soup

What do you do when you have a day off?

Are you a fan of broccoli soup?

21 responses to “Creamy Avocado and Broccoli Soup

  1. Your day sounded so nice!!! I for some reason thought I had yesterday off so I booked my train from Montreal to come back last night…and I didn’t eek! I’m a terrible employee and called in sick. But it ended up being a nice day!

    I LOVE broccoli soup and this recipe looks amazing :)

  2. YES!!!! Ahh this looks so good! I’m making this!

  3. Yum. That soup sounds perfect for a chilly Fall day, it’s convenient that most of the ingredients are refrigerator staples too. Glad you enjoyed a nice day off, unfortunately I had to work, oh well :)

  4. I never thought of putting avocado in soup! This looks and sounds delicious! I can’t wait to try!!!

  5. Wow I also would never think to make this, but it looks amazing! We used to have some kind of green soup when I studied in Spain. Spinach maybe? Is that a thing? Anyway it was delicious!

  6. Sounds like a great day off! Coop is so cute curled up in a little ball like that.

    I love a good broccoli cheese soup but I bet the avocado in this is perfectly creamy and delicious. yum!

  7. shashi @ http://runninsrilankan.com

    Oh my – I love broccoli and avocados so I am glad I stumbled by your blog today to see this soup! Yum – thanks for sharing

  8. consuelohoneyandfigs

    This looks so filling and comforting! I must make it for dinner anytime soon ;)

  9. I love avocados! I have to try this soup! Love the picture of your doggie! :)

    Feel free to visit my blog as well if you wish! <3

    Diana

    http://www.ManhattanImageandStyle.com

    New Blog Post: 7 Ways to Spice Up Your Look

  10. I’m glad you got to enjoy a nice day off! I really like broccoli and avocado but never would have thought to combine them into a soup together. It sounds good, and you really can’t go wrong when avocado’s involved.

  11. Oh I would love to try this! I love all of those foods!

  12. I’ve never used avocado in a soup like this, but it sounds like it would make it fanstically creamy and delicious.

  13. I’m really trying to appreciate the days off that I have because I’ve been trying to fill my days up to the max lately. I needed the busy schedule, but the calm mornings and casual evenings can be nice!! This soup..looks…YUM! Two of my favorite flavor combos!

  14. I love broccoli soup, especially broccoli cream soup. Next time I will have to add avocado into it. :)

    Some of America had Veteran’s Day (Monday) off and I spent the whole day studying. The life of a student never stops!

Leave a Reply

