1 Year Blogiversary!!

blogiversary

HEY GUYS! This week marks my one year blogiversary! How exciting is that! I have been sharing my recipes and life with you all for a whole year.. wow, seems crazy!

It’s so funny to look back at some of first posts and think about how far I’ve come. At first I had no idea who was reading my blog.. I sometimes thought no one was! And then I discovered there is a whole world of similar minded bloggers out there who I have come to know (some in real life, others online) and I am so grateful for all of your comments and love you give to me and GEG.

My first posts had terrible photography, little content, and mostly ramblings but I am glad I shared them, because it made me a stronger blogger and gave me something to strive for. Blogging isn’t my full time job, it is more of a great hobby for me, so when I see people are actually enjoying my content.. it makes me beam.

Cookie

My first recipe on the blog – Pumpkin Banana Chunk Cookies

Part of me thought that I would start this blogging journey and quit after a few months because I was too busy or lacked ideas.. but what came about was just the opposite. I actually look forward to the time I spend on my blog and although there are many things I want to change about it, I am so happy with my success with it so far.

I love to write and I love to cook so a food blog was always in the back on my mind. After long days at my ‘real job’, nothing is more therapeutic then sitting down at the computer and looking up new recipes, reading other blogs, and thinking about my next post.

So thank you for reading my blog and sharing this experience with me.

In celebration of my one year of blogging, I thought I would go back to some of my favourite (and most popular) posts from throughout the year.

Tips on How to Pack a Healthy Work Lunch

Salad

Bridesmaid Boxes

Will you be my bridesmaid

Falafel Balls – Weekly Ingredient Trio

Spaghetti

Coconut Cherry Chip Balls

Cherry Chip Balls

PB&B Frozen Treat Bars

Treat Bar

Almond Joy Bites

Almond Joy

And what would a celebration be without some baked goods?

I made these cookies last night for a family friend who is in the Hospital right now and thought they were good enough to share with you gems.

They are crunchy.. and soft.. and golden. The perfect cookie combo!

Cookie

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes 2 dozen cookies

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup organic cane sugar
  • 2/3 cup coconut oil, room temperature (liquidy)
  • 1/4 cup almond milk, unsweetened
  • 1 tbsp corn starch
  • 1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup vegan chocolate chips

1) Preheat oven to 350F.

2) In a large bowl beat brown sugar, cane sugar, coconut oil, almond milk, corn starch, and vanilla. Beat with hand mixer for about three minutes.

3) In a small bowl mix the flour, baking soda, and salt. Gradually add flour mixture to the wet mixture. Once well combined, stir in the chocolate chips.

4) Roll 1 tbsp of dough into a ball. Flatten on baking tray and repeat with remaining dough. I fit 12 cookies on a large baking tray. They will spread a bit when they bit so don’t put them too close together.

5) Bake for 9-11 minutes, or until cookies are golden brown.

6) Let sit on baking tray for one minute and then transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Cookie

Have a great weekend!

51 responses to “1 Year Blogiversary!!

  1. Isn’t it crazy how near and dear blogging becomes to us? It’s honestly hard to imagine life without blogging in it. Happy blogiversary, girl! Thank you for tempting me with so many delicious recipes before 6 AM :P Those cookies… ooooomigosh.

  2. Congrats on one year girl!

    When I started blogging, I had no idea what it would turn into either. I never imagined I would stick with it for 4.5 years (and counting!) or get the chance to meet so many other bloggers in person. Even though it’s a lot of work, it’s so worth it!

    Also those cookies look amazing. :D

  3. Yum!!!! These look so good! I know we’ve only found each other recently but your blog has quickly become one of my favourites! Here’s to many more years of blogging to come :)

  4. I want those cookies right now. YUUUM.

    Happy blogiversary, sweat pea!! :)

  5. Happy blogiversary! Having just recently celebrated my first year of blogging, too, what you wrote here resonates so much with me. Like you, I guessed I’d give up running out of content after a few months. And here I am today: so happy to have joined this wonderful world meeting like-minded people from all over the world.
    I’m glad you commented on my blog so I could find yours and now have all the fun of catching up. Judging from this post that’s going to be major catch-up of deliciousness … mmmh.

  6. Happy Blogiversary lovely!! And here’s to many more :) I definitely have some catching up to do… thank you for posting these “most popular” posts. Happy Friday and have a wonderful weekend!

  7. your posts always make me hungry!!! happy blogaversary!

  8. Congrats on one year! :) That’s quite the milestone. I’m going to go and check out those bridesmaid boxes right now ;)

  9. Congrats on one year!!! :-)

  10. How exciting! Congratulations, Christine!!

  11. Congratulations!! I am so happy I found your blog! Can’t wait for future posts! <3

    I have a new video up on my blog now, I hope you like it! ;)
    Diana
    http://www.ManhattanImageandStyle.com
    New Video: 7 Ways to Layer Your Clothes Like A New Yorker

  12. Congratulations on one year!! I think you and your blog are awesome and I’m happy that we found each other on the internets. :)

    Those almond joy bites and chocolate chip cookies look like a fabulous way to celebrate.

  13. Happy Blogiversary Christine! How exciting!!! All these delicious recipes are making my tummy rumble! ;-)

  14. Happy Anniversary to you and your blog– so exciting! It’s always funny to look back on some of your old posts!

  15. Happy Blogoversary!!! How exciting. So many of your recipes that I need to try ahhh but for now you should probably pick one and make it as a celebratory treat :)

  16. Woohoo! Congrats on your 1-year ;) Mine is coming up soon too and I feel similarly about blogging being a therapeutic escape. Somehow I haven’t run out of things to talk about yet!

  17. Happy blogiversary! I have quite a few of your recipes in my need to try file. Although I have only met one blog friend in person as of yet I think its wonderful how many friendships I have formed with other bloggers.

  18. Happy blogoversary! Those cookies look so good and I would like one right now please! Haha.

  19. Happy Blogiversary!!! So crazy that you have been blogging for only one year. You are a pro! :)

  20. Happy 1 year in blogging- Its so true how you phrased it being something you truly enjoy doing! So glad to have come across your blog and those cookies…I tried making a vegan cookie once. It was awesome…until you tried to pick it up and it crumbled. :)

  21. Happy Blogiversary!! What an amazing achievement! You’ve made some amazing looking recipes and posts :)

    I hope you had a great weekend!

  22. Congrats on a year of blogging! I forgot about your bridesmaid boxes but I remember reading that post and thinking that was such a cute idea!! Here’s to another great year!

  23. Congrats my dear! 1 year is such an awesome milestone, one that many blogs never see :) Can’t wait to see what the next year brings!

  24. Congrats on your anniversary! It is crazy just how much your blog becomes a part of you – I started mine as a hobby / creative outlet and now I can’t imagine not blogging! Here’s to many more years to come!

  25. Aw, congrats on 1 year of blogging! That is so awesome!! :)

  26. Happy 1 year blogiversary! So happy I started following you!

Leave a Reply

