Peanut Butter Banana Bread [Vegan and Gluten Free]

Banana Bread

Raise your hand if you like banana bread!! All yo hands up? Yup, that’s what I thought.

Everyone loves banana bread.. and if you don’t.. well, you crazy.

I’m sure I have vented about my love/hate relationship with gluten free baking before here on the blog, but it really is tricky. I have had many fails and a few triumphs. Mostly fails though. I can never seem to get the taste JUST right. And sometimes my finished product just falls apart in my hands.

I think bananas are my lucky charm when I am GF baking because every time I bake something GF with bananas, it turns out great (delicious even). Full disclosure… “every time” is only like five times [hehe].

Banana Bread

This banana bread is no exception.

One of the first blogs I stumbled upon when I was researching GF baking months ago, was Sarah Bakes Gluten Free Treats. Sarah’s recipes all look so delicious!! She has her own GF flour mix that she swears by, but I haven’t gotten around to testing it out yet (must asap).

The Banana Bread I made this week was so delicious, so moist, and NOT crumbly. WIN! It also didn’t have that distinct gluten free flour taste that I try to stay away from.

Banana Bread

I adapted Sarah’s recipe slightly, but I’m sure it is fantastic unchanged.

Peanut Butter Banana Bread [Vegan and Gluten Free]
Adapted from Sarah Bakes Gluten Free Treats
makes 1 loaf

  • 1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free flour
  • 1/2 cup Gluten Free rolled oats
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 1/2 ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter, softened
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted (room temperature)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 cup organic cane sugar
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp chopped peanuts (optional)

1) Preheat oven to 350F. Grease a 4×8 inch loaf pan and set aside.

2) In a small bowl, mix gluten free flour, oats, xanthan gum, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix well.

3) In a large bowl, mash the bananas. Whisk in peanut butter*, coconut oil, almond milk, sugar, maple syrup, and vanilla. Mix well.

4) Add the dry ingredients to the wet. Add peanuts. Mix well, until everything is incorporated.

5) Pour mixture into loaf pan. Bake for 40 minutes. Insert toothpick and if it comes out clean (no batter on it) remove from oven.

6) Cool for 10 minutes. Gently remove the loaf from pan and let cool completely on wire rack.

*Note: To soften peanut butter, place in a microwave safe bowl and microwave for 20 seconds.

Banana Bread

Do you bake GF? Teach me your ways!

What’s your favourite kind of Banana Bread?

24 responses to “Peanut Butter Banana Bread [Vegan and Gluten Free]

  1. Yep, my hands up! I looove banana bread.
    Girl, you know I feel your pain with the gluten-free baking. Although I think trying to bake GF and vegan is a whole new ballgame. Eggs are almost essential to hold things together but clearly, xantham gum helps that!

    I’m digging the addition of peanut butter and oats. There’s all kinds of goodness up in there!

  2. This looks really good! I’m actually eating PB overnight oats topped with banana right now :) I don’t bake GF but the few times I have attempted to bake super healthy it has been a majorrrrr fail. I’m hoping to keep experimenting though and get it right one of these times.

  3. I haven’t really attempted too much gluten free baking because it seems so tricky! But it looks like you nailed it with this loaf. Yum! I’m sure it would be great with soy nut butter subbed for PB to make it nut free for me. :D

  4. Wish I had tricks for ya, but really it’s just a matter of trial and error…and lots of xanthan gum! This looks delicious :)

  5. i LOVE banana bread! i make banana muffins (easier to transport) and i also toss in chopped walnuts for the crunch. so good!

  6. This banana and peanut butter bread sounds good! I tried GF baking this spring and still make a few things gf but there have been a few fails. I like the addition of the oats though. I always love adding them to baked goods.

  7. I never made gluten-free so no tips but I know it’s a fine line between delicious and rock hard. I never thought to put PB in, looks great!

  8. Love banana bread- especially if it has pumpkin & chocolate chips in it!

  9. ahh I need some of this in my life. You can’ t ever go wrong with peanut butter

    -Elise @ 9toFit.com

  10. This. Looks. Amazing!! Peanut butter and bananas is one of the best combos there is!

  11. It is funny as I used to not like banana bread but when I say that I mean the traditional one I used to think of that was FULL of oil. Now I am obsessed with it and make a ‘healthy’ version of it usually at least once a week.

    Love the sound of yours and adding peanut butter, yummy!!

  12. um… how did I miss this recipe? I LOVE banana bread and I love peanut butter…this sealed the deal!

  13. This looks delicious, Christine! I like using quinoa flour when baking – give it a shot!

  14. Peanut butter + banana bread = genius! Honestly, this recipe looks amazing! I will be making it for the girl’s weekend I have planned this week.

  15. I love anything with bananas in it, especially banana bread! Gluten free is tough but I love how moist everything comes out. We have a gluten-free bakery around the corner from us and it takes a lot of willpower not to stop there all the time!

  16. My hand is up! Waaaaay up! Totally love banana bread! And peanut butter-banana bread?!?! Yes, please! This looks just amazing! Pinning ASAP! :D

Leave a Reply

