Cauliflower Tacos with Creamy Slaw & Cucumber-Pineapple Salsa

Tacos

Well that’s quite the title, isn’t it? I couldn’t help it, everything that makes these tacos so darn tasty NEEDED to get some recognition in the title. And a long title obviously means a delicious and super easy recipe that anyone can make.. right?

Right!

These taco’s are the bee’s knees, folks. And they go down pretty smoothly with a nice cold beer.

Tacos

Roasted seasoned cauliflower, tangy creamy coleslaw, and a refreshing cucumber-pineapple salsa? Umm I’ll take 20.

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I’m a big sauce person. My mac and ‘cheese’ is usually drenched in ketchup, my tofu nuggets get a whole bowl of dipping sauce, and my tacos get soggy by the end if I don’t eat them fast enough. I love me some saucy food.

Tacos

But saucy food usually means more calories, more fat, and more sodium.. which isn’t what I am looking for. When I take a break from my sauce craze I like to get the sauciness that I am looking for with natural juice makers.. fruits and veggies!

This cucumber-pineapple salsa is something I have been thinking about making for months… since June actually. I thought it would make the perfect summer salsa, but I just never got around to making it. Well, what better time than US Thanksgiving I guess?

You can double the batch and make this salsa to go with nacho chips (ah-mazing) or mix it into some mashed avocado for a delicious guacamole! Oh the possibilities. Cucumber and pineapple is my new favourite combo.

Tacos

The salsa is the star of these tacos. I make this coleslaw all the time so it isn’t overly exciting for me. But mixed with this salsa – BAM – kitchen magic.

I hope you guys make these delicious little tacos. Maybe Sunday when you are sick of turkey or just want to spice up your weekend.

Cauliflower Tacos with Tangy Slaw and Cucumber-Pineapple Salsa
Serves 2-3

Roasted Cauliflower

  • 1 small head cauliflower
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tbsp taco seasoning

1) Preheat oven to 400F. Line a baking tray with tin foil.

2) Cut cauliflower into small bite sized pieces. Place into a bowl and add olive oil and taco seasoning. Toss to evenly coat all the pieces.

3) Place cauliflower on baking tray and bake for 20 mins. Toss after ten minutes.

4) Remove from oven and set aside.

Tangy Slaw

  • 2 1/2 cups shredded cabbage
  • 3 tbsp vegan mayo (Vegenaise)
  • 1 tbsp white vinegar
  • 1 tsp maple syrup

1) In a small bowl whisk vegan mayo, white vinegar, and maple syrup. Add shredded cabbage and toss. Cover and place in refrigerator.

Cucumber-Pineapple Salsa

  • 1 small english cucumber, diced (about 1 1/2 cup)
  • 1 1/2 cup pineapple, diced
  • 1/2 red onion, diced (about 1/4 cup)
  • handful of parsley, chopped
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • salt and pepper

1) Mix all ingredients in a bowl. Cover and place in refrigerator.

To assemble tacos:

  • Roasted cauliflower
  • Creamy Slaw
  • Cucumber-Pineapple Salsa
  • Small whole wheat tortillas
  • 1 avocado, sliced

1) Take a tortilla and add a few pieces of cauliflower, 2 tbsp of slaw, 2 tbsp of salsa, and 2 slices of avocado. Roll up and enjoy!

Taco

What is your favourite kind of taco

Do you like to get your sauce on?

16 responses to “Cauliflower Tacos with Creamy Slaw & Cucumber-Pineapple Salsa

  1. I love beef or fish tacos but these look delicious!! :)

    My boyfriend and I first connected among other things on our shared love of tomato sauce. hehe

  2. Oh wow, these look amazing! They look like they’re right off a restaurant menu.

    I’m a fan of sauces too. One of my favourite meals is a Fresh restaurant style rice bowl, and I always like to load them up with a good sauce!

  3. Hah the title! Love it. I’m honestly not a huge taco fan but I love roasted cauliflower so I am stealing your seasoning idea. Happy Friday lovely!

  4. I hate coming up with titles for recipes! I tried cauliflower tacos for the the first time at Grand Electric a few weeks ago and they were amazing. But probably not very healthy. Yours can be the replacement :)

  5. Ohhh those tacos sound delicious!!! And still healthy!!

  6. These look amazing and definitely don’t need any sauce. I bet they’re plenty flavorful on their own. A nice light and refreshing change from all of the heavy holiday food right now!

  7. What can’t you do with cauliflower? I love how popular it’s become. I love fish tacos – preferably when they’re super fresh/on the beach in Mexico. But I also love bean burritos, too. I’m obsessed with re-fred beans. Mmm.

  8. I have been meaning to try cauliflower in tacos because cauliflower is pretty much my most favorite vegetable ever. Well, at least this month it is. :) These look delicious!

  9. i’ve never had a non meat taco- this looks incredible- I love cauliflower and I love tacos = this screams winner!

  10. What an amazing combination of flavors! So colorful, too! Of all the ways I’ve roasted cauliflower, I don’t think I’ve ever used taco seasoning – yum – my kiddos will love it!!! And then adding the cole slaw PLUS that amazing salsa!?!? You said it: BAM – kitchen magic!!!! :D

  11. Great combination of ingredients!

Leave a Reply

