Holiday Spiced Creamy Dates

Creamy Dates

Now that the Holiday season is upon us my sweet tooth is in full force. I find myself sneaking a cookie here and there and having way too many vegan chocolate truffles after a workout.

Tis the season, right?

My goal this year was to make a couple dozen healthy versions of my favourite treats. I had a baking party last weekend (with myself) but those treats were all for our staff Christmas party… so I’m back to square one.

Creamy Dates

THIS weekend I am baking for ME! Oh and Grant, he can have some too.

Last night I was really craving a sweet treat after dinner. I didn’t feel like making a batch of cookies at 9pm so I tried something different.

Dates. And eggnog. Almond egg nog.

Almond Egg Nog

With a few other ingredients this recipe turned out amazing. This would be a great dessert if you were looking for something festive, yet super simple. It came together in minutes and after letting it sit for an hour in the fridge.. even better! And friends, after a whole night soaking in the eggnog, they were even BETTER!

Creamy Dates

Holiday Spiced Creamy Dates

  • 1 1/2 cup almond eggnog
  •  1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp all spice
  • 2 tsp organic cane sugar
  • dash of ground cardamom
  • 12 dates, pitted

1) In a medium saucepan on medium heat combine the almond eggnog, coconut milk, cinnamon, all spice, sugar, and ground cardamom. Whisk until well combined. Continue to heat until it starts to boil. Remove from heat.

2) Add pitted dates to the eggnog mixture.

3) Transfer mixture to a tupperware container with a lid and place in the fridge. Let sit for at least an hour (the longer the better).

To serve – add the dates (with cream) to a saucepan and heat on medium-low heat for five minutes. Serve 2-3 dates per person with a couple tbsp of cream.

—-

Have you tried Almond Egg Nog?

Have a good  cookie recipe for me to make this weekend?

13 responses to “Holiday Spiced Creamy Dates

  1. Two Healthy Kitchens

    I haven’t tried Almond Egg Nog, but I’ve totally gotta watch for it! I love egg nog, but not all the fakey ingredients or unhealthy kinds of fats that typical come with it! Yay – thanks for the tip! Oh, and I love the concept of this recipe – so very simple, so healthy! Yet loaded with eggnoggy (seriously – it’s a word!) flavors?!?! Yes, please! So excited to make this! :D

  2. This is such an interesting recipe!! Can you believe I’ve never tried egg nog? Now that I know there’s almond milk egg nog I gotta get on this.

    And you know that I could never choose one cookie!

  3. Soaking dates? Now there’s something I’ve never thought to try, but I imagine it tastes amazing. I’d gladly eat a couple of these even though I’m not the biggest fan of eggnog. Does almond eggnog taste like the regular kind?

  4. This looks good! My favourite cookies of all time are these: http://ohsheglows.com/2012/06/20/happy-trails-adventure-cookies/ MMMMMMM

  5. What an interesting recipe! If only I hadn’t just finished my almond egg nog!

    I love my tahini and date oatmeal cookies- I’d check those out ;) Also anything from Vegan Cookies Invade your Cookie Jar is pretty epic! Especially the Pignoli cookies!

  6. I love dates! What a cool idea! i will have to try this!

  7. I’ve still never had egg nog. I’m such a baby–for some reason I have it in my mind that I won’t like it. But alsooooo no one in my family drinks it so we never had it around the house growing up. I should probably give it a try though because a lot of people seem to like it!

  8. I’ve never tried almond egg nog but it sounds awesome! I love your healthy replacement for truffles too.

  9. I haven’t tried that almond nog yet, but it’s definitely going in my cart next time I’m at the store. I love your idea to soak dates in it! I’m on such a big date kick lately.

  10. We can’t even get Egg Nog here or at least not that I’ve seen let alone almond egg nog but it sounds delicious! As does this date recipe :)

  11. What a genius wat to mix a festive beverage with dates…..yum!

Leave a Reply

