The Week Before Christmas

Christmas

So I decided to change things up a bit this week. With Christmas only a few days away I am sure I am not the only one who is SUPER busy this week. Between work, parties, catching up with friends, and Christmas shopping, there leaves little time for well, anything else.

I don’t know what I am going to eat for dinner every day this week. And I don’t know if I will get my butt to the gym, 3, 4 or 5 times. We shall see – and I am perfectly happy with this plan! In fact, I am happy to continue this until the New Year.

Vodka

Amy over at The Little Honey Bee wrote a great post today about Balancing Vodka and Veggies (drinking and eating clean), and a lot of what she said is true for me too. I love to eat healthy and clean, but I also love to drink and go out with friends. It is a balance that I have struggled with in the past because I would always feel bad the next morning about how many calories I drank. I would then eat whatever I wanted (which was usually something greasy or sweet) and continue to feel bad about myself.

I don’t let this happen anymore. I go out, have fun, and have no regrets. Life is too short to be counting how many calories are in each drink and missing out on holiday parties because I don’t want to drink.

And the late night snacking happens when you drink. Get over it and try to be as healthy as you can. I try to prepare myself for these incidents by packing the front of the fridge with hummus, veggies, and left overs so that I don’t order pizza or pick something up to eat on the way home from the bar (I have soo many fast foods joints around my apartment that are open 24/7). But if I do eat out.. I don’t beat myself up. I’ll just sweat a bit more the next day ;).

Enjoy the holidays, my friends. Eat, drink, and be merry. The treadmill will be there tomorrow!

Instead of a specific meal plan and exercise schedule, here are some of the things I am looking forward to this week.

Friends

Seeing my friends. I am so excited to reunite with my friends this weekend! Two of our best friends moved out West in the summer so this is the first time we will be seeing them since August! We are also spending New Years Eve with them at the cottage and I couldn’t be happier.

Apple Sangria

(image source)

Holiday Themed Cocktails and Bad Santa. My head is bursting with ideas for special cocktails at our party on Friday. I’m thinking some sort of candy cane martini and a Christmas sangria (how good does that Apple Sangria look)?? YUM.

We each have to bring a gift to the party (under $10) to play Bad Santa. There are so many names for this game, you’ve probably played it under a different alias. It’s the one where you pick a gift and the next person can either steal it or pick a new one from the pile.. and you continue until everyone has a gift. Funny gifts are encouraged!

Grant

Spending my first Christmas with Grant. Can you believe that Grant and I have never spent Christmas Day together? It has been almost six years and we have never even been in the same city for the holidays. This year we are spending the 22-25 with Grant’s family and the 26-29 with my family. Change is always hard but my family understands and I can’t wait to see them on the 26!

Cookie

Christmas Baking. I have been baking up a storm and freezing all my goodies for when we are in Newmarket/Cornwall. I may pull a few out for our party on Friday just to taste test ;). My mom made some vegan Christmas cookies for me too, so I can’t wait to test them out!

The Pretty Vain

(image source)

Getting my Beauty United package in the mail. So I WON an awesome giveaway over at The Pretty Vain and I am so excited to get it! I don’t know when it will get here but the anticipation is killing me. You can check out what I won, here.

What are you looking forward to this week?

9 responses to “The Week Before Christmas

  1. I couldn’t agree more with your philosophy. Life is too short and there is always tomorrow to get back on track.

    I’m glad you get to spend Christmas with Grant finally! It is so hard to divide your time between families but you deserve to be together.

  2. Wonderful post and thank you for the link love. Your approach is fantastic! Wishing you and your family a very happy holidays xo

  3. These are the posts I love to read! Live your life, don’t plan it! What’s the point in making healthy choices to live a long life if you can’t enjoy it? Plus when I compare my poor choices in university to now I’ve made such strides so getting a little tipsy and partying too late is more than acceptable!

  4. the treadmill will be there tomorrow – exactly! We’re definitely much better off just not worrying about it and enjoying the holidays, drinks and late night snacks included. So nice that you and Grant can spend them together!

  5. I love your outlook on enjoying the holidays without regrets while still trying to stay healthy. How fun for you and grant to get to spend the holiday together for the first time! I’m not going to get home until the 27tj however I’m still so excited to get to see my family whenever it is.

  6. Love your take on this week’s post! I am just looking forward to family and relaxation time :)

  7. Yessss I think what you said (what Amy said) is so true!! I used to stress about alcohol calories too but unless you drink alllllll the time I don’t think it’s worth it, especially around the holidays. Have fun, eat too many sweets, and then get your butt to the gym come January haha. And yayyy I’m excited you get to spend Christmas with your boo! (I’m assuming Grant is your boyfriend….if he’s not this might be awkward) haha

  8. I love how you’re just focusing on enjoying the holidays and not stressing about a strict schedule! I’m trying to work on the same thing. The holidays are for relaxing and enjoying good food and lots of time with family and friends! I hope you have a wonderful holiday!!

  9. Aw enjoy Christmas with your guy! I love your attitude toward the holidays. And feel proud of yourself because no amount of self-control or knowledge could ever get me to eat hummus and carrot sticks after getting home on a late night of being out! Haha! I love you for it though :)

Leave a Reply

