February Grocery Store Favourites

feb grocery store favs

Didn’t I just do a grocery store favourites post? Yup I totally did… sorry again for the lack of posts lately. I have some fun ones planned for you soon so stick with me.

February felt like it lasted two days instead of 28. Seriously, how is it March? I had some good grocery store finds last month that I just know you guys will love. Heeeeeeere we go.

Chimes PB Ginger Chews

chimes

I first spotted these bad boys on Angela’s blog a while back. Although I’m not a fan of ginger, I was so intigued by this flavour combo – PB and ginger? I had to find these and try one. While I was browsing the aisles at Nature’s Emporium in Newmarket I spotted them and threw them into the cart. You know I couldn’t wait to get home to try one.. so I opened them as soon as I got to my car. They are surprisingly really tasty! Subtle PB flavour with a bit of spice from the ginger. Next time I’ll have to try the peppermint!

St. Dalfour Deluxe Strawberry Spread

strawberry spread
My favourite jam has always been strawberry. Homemade is obviously the best, but it can be quite high in sugar. I read an article months ago about the best jams on the market and this one was one of them. I forgot about it until I was looking for a new jam and the label brought the memory back to try this out. I love that it is sweetened with grape juice and there is no added sugar! Such a win! And it tastes amazing.

Good Karma Vanilla Flax Deluxe Milk

milk
So we all know almond, coconut, and soy milk are the bomb.. but have you tried flax seed milk? Holy smokes guys, this one is tasty! If you are looking to switch things up, give this a try. It doesn’t have an overbearing taste, just a simply nutty taste ?? I don’t know.. I’m bad at describing milk. Here’s the nutritional benefits: Natural, Lactose Free, Gluten Free, Non Dairy, Trans Fat Free, Soy Free, Allergen Free, Vegan, Supports Green Farming, Omega-3s. Cool! Get some.

Vega Protein Smoothie – Viva Vanilla

vega

Yup – another Vega product. BUT YOU GUYS – this one is good. The smoothies from Vega are so amazing. I am beyond obsessed with the Viva Vanilla. It is so rich and creamy.. and you would not believe it is vegan! I mix it in my overnight oats and my smoothies (which end up tasting like milk shakes).

Sesame Tahini

tahini

For those of you that don’t know what tahini is – it is a paste made from ground sesame seeds. Tahini is found in a lot of Middle Eastern dishes and it is deeeelish. I use it in a lot of my sauces, dressings, and dips and love the flavour that it brings. I’ve been loving the Sesame Tahini from Country Fresh.. give it a try.

Black Japonica Rice

rice

This was my first time ever buying black rice. I was a little intimidated by it, to be honest, because I’ve only ever made white or brown rice. Lundberg Black Japonica rice is surprisingly really tasty. I made it using the directions on the package (rice, water, vegan butter) and once cooked I stirred in some stemmed veggies/soy sauce. I don’t make rice often but this was a nice change!

—-

Did you try anything new last month?

What’s your favourite protein powder?

8 responses to “February Grocery Store Favourites

  1. Try cooking the black rice in coconut water!!! It’s amaaaaazing. Also I LOVE those ginger chews!

  2. Mmmmm I’m never tried flax milk, but now I’m intrigued! Love me some fruit-juice sweetened strab jam :)

  3. I NEED to find those Chimes!! I love all things peanut butter and ginger, so I am sure they would pair well together? And flax milk? Interesting!

  4. I love the chimes! I typically buy them in peanut butter or original flavor. I have never tried flax milk, I might have to pick some up next time i see it.

  5. I’ve had that rice before and love it!

    Where did you buy that tahini? I’m always on the lookout for different tahinis since I can’t have the most common one found in stores (the Nuts to You brand – because they make it on the same equipment as other nut butters).

  6. Flax MILK?? Wow I really want to try that! I know that if you cook flax it turns into gel (I use it for my hair!), but I can’t imagine how to make it into milk!

  7. You always score the coolest finds! Peanut butter and ginger, huh?? What a unique combination! Oh and I love, love tahini – I think I have a couple different brands open in my fridge at this very moment! I make a lot of hummus, so that’s where most of it goes, but I adore tahini salad dressing, too – yum!!!!! :D

Leave a Reply

