8 Ways to Personalize Your Wedding

Personalize Wedding

Weddings are the perfect opportunity to get all of your loved ones together. It’s unfortunate but as we get older it seems the only time I get my whole extended family together is either at a wedding or a funeral. I think we need a few more ‘Family Days’ here in Ontario to round everyone up and have a party. Let’s lobby the government for one in June and maybe one in July? Perfect!

As our wedding day nears (73 days !!!) I find myself thinking of different ways to incorporate family into our big day. I want everyone to feel they are a part of our wedding and our love and I am filled with ideas on how to display it. But as much as wedding are about family and friends, we can’t forget about the happy couple! Grant and I want our wedding to be ‘us’, so we have been working hard on ways to bring that vision to life. Weddings with personal touches are a) adorable and b) memorable, because everyone will love all the little touches you put into it.

Like my Top 10 Wedding Favour Ideas, I’m not going to tell you what we are doing for our wedding, but I will give you a list of 8 ideas that may show up on our big day. If you have any other ideas – I would love to hear them! Share in the comments section below.

1) Honour those that have passed

Deceased Loved One

(source)

A display of pictures of loved ones that have passed on is truly beautiful to have at the ceremony. There are many ways to display them: place frames on empty chairs,  have a table outside with the frames displayed, hang them on chairs/doorway, or on a table in the front with a few roses beside them. If you don’t want to take up space with picture frames, dedicate a small part of your wedding programs to your deceased loved ones. However you want to display them, I think it is a very nice gesture to both of your families.

2) Make Your Own Centerpieces with Pictures/Momentoes

Wine centerpiece

(Source)

A bundle of flowers is the most common centerpiece at a wedding, but there are so many creative ideas out there. If you and your fiancee love wine then make a centerpiece out of empty wine bottles, corks, and candles and have some pictures of you at a vineyard. Or if you both love the outdoors, use lanterns as the centerpiece with a lit candle inside. Remember, simple is very elegant and pretty!

3) Wedding Wheel

wedding wheel

(source)

The clinking of the glasses is old news when it comes to the kissing game at weddings. I’ve been to a few weddings where the person who wants the bride and groom to kiss has to do something embarrassing or funny in order for them to smooch. As funny as it is, only a few people participate and it dies down after an hour. To keep the game going, why don’t you make a kissing game wheel that guests have to spin and complete the task for the bride/groom to kiss. Options for the wheel could be: tell a story about the bride/groom, act out your favourite memory of the bride/groom, etc.

4) Signature Cocktails

Signature cocktail

(source)

Does this one really come as a surprise to you? I love my cocktails! Signature cocktails are a great way to share your favourite drink with your guests. You can get creative and find a recipe that ties into your wedding colours or just find a great craft beer to feature. A little sign to list the ingredients is super cute and easy and you’ll guests will obviously love it.

5) Table ‘Numbers’

Table Names

(source)

If you want to get creative with you table numbers why not do something unique and loose the numbers all together! You could label each table after places you and your fiancee have visited together or places you want to see. You could also name the tables after your favourite authors, words, or movies.

 6) Not your Typical Guestbook

Jenga

(source)

One of the few things Grant and I agreed on for the wedding was that we both didn’t want a typical guestbook. We love our engagement pictures but we are tired of looking at them! I’m not going to tell you what we are doing, but it isn’t going to be traditional. Pinterest has a ton of amazing ideas for guestbooks; the Jenga set guestbook, the quilt guestbook, or the thumbprint guestbook.

7) Get Everyone Involved

Flower girl

(source)

Who said the flower girl had to be under 10? Get your grandma(s) to throw pedals down the aisle for a personal touch to your ceremony. If you want to recognize your moms at the ceremony, you could take a pause and present them with roses or have them witness the signing of the marriage certificate. Do you have a lot of children in your family? Come up with a fun dance or song they could do at the reception.

8) Brand Your Wedding

Brand

(source)

If you really want your wedding to stand out and be unique, brand it! Get a super awesome graphic designer named Grant (wink wink, nudge nudge) to come up with a design/logo that you can use everywhere at your wedding. Grant made us a beautiful logo that we have been using to personalize lots of little surprises for the wedding.

And there you have it. Hope you enjoyed my round up.. and please share your ideas in the comments below!

 

6 responses to “8 Ways to Personalize Your Wedding

  1. I love the idea about honoring your loved ones. I won’t be getting married any time soon, but whenever I do, I will definitely be doing something to remember my grandmother who passed away two years ago.

  2. My brother in law is making us a giant Jenga puzzle so everyone can sign a piece! And I love the idea of the wedding wheel- thanks for sharing!

  3. I honestly LOVE all of these ideas! So unique and original :). Saving this for when my boyfriend pops the question hahah ;)!

  4. Such great ideas! I think they are so original! If my boyfriend pops the question I will definitely be keeping these ideas in mind ;)

  5. These are all great ideas! I used a few of them for my wedding. I had someone hand paint our table numbers. They were portraits of places my husband and I have lived together.

    Also, since we got married in Hawaii, I used vintage Hawaiian postcards for our guest book.

    These ideas are so fun!

  6. What fun, special ideas! I loved several of them in particular, but my heart really leapt at the idea of celebrating grandmas by making them the flower girls! That’s just fabulous, for many, many reasons! It’ll be so interesting to see which ideas you incorporate into your own big day, and how you weave them through! :D

Leave a Reply

